Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe

Entries Confirmed for Season Opener at Misano

23 entries for this weekend’s long-awaited Super Trofeo Europe 2020 opener at Misano…

Photo: Lamborghini

The entries for this weekend’s Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe opener at Misano have been confirmed, with a total of 23 cars set to tackle the pair of 50-minute races.

The first Super Trofeo Europe meeting since the 2019 World Final at Jerez almost 10 months ago will run in support of GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS Sprint Cup.

As usual, the field will be classified into four categories for Pro, Pro-Am, Am and LB Cup driver lineups that will all be using the Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo Evo.

Vito Postiglione and Kikko Galbiati, who claimed four victories together last year, have returned for a shot at the 2020 Pro class title with Imperiale Racing.

Leipert Motorsport is also back and aiming for the championship with the new lineup of Sebastian Balthasar and reigning GT4 European Series Pro-Am champion Marcus Paverud.

Leipert has a total of four entries, including cars for Mikko Eskelinen/Elias Niskanen, Yury Wagner/Panagiotos Takis Spiliopolous and Jake Ratttebury/Guillem Pejeu Beya.

Former European Le Mans Series LMP3 entrant Oregon Team will make its Super Trofeo debut with Dorian Boccolacci and Kevin Gilardoni teaming up in the outfit’s Pro car.

Oregon also has a Pro-Am car listed for two of its ex-ELMS drivers in Damian Fioravanti and Lorenzo Bontempelli.

Another new team in the top class is the Monaco-based GSM Racing squad which is working with Jonathan Cecotto and Super Trofeo North America rising star Patrick Liddy.

Bonaldi Motorsport is operating a Lamborghini for Super Trofeo debutant Dean Stoneman, while Max Weering is also making his start in the series with Johan Kraan Motorsport.

Vincenzo Sospiri Racing has returned to the competition after a season out and will head to Misano with a car each in Pro and Pro-Am.

The team’s Pro car is set to be driven by Edoardo Liberati and Olli Parhankangas, while the Pro-Am VSR machine features reigning World Final class winners Karol Basz and Andrzej Lewandowski.

Konrad Motorsport, which represents Lamborghini’s cause in NLS, is also back in the championship with solo entries for Martin Lechmann and Vincent Schwartz.

2014 Super Trofeo Europe champion Milos Pavlovic is part of Target Racing’s crew this year and will share a car in Pro-Am with Mexico’s Raul Guzman.

Target’s Pro car will be driven by Danish Super GT champion Kevin Rossel and Alberto di Folco.

A total of four Huracan ST Evos are entered in Am with Autovitesse, Target, Leipert and Boutsen Ginion Racing all involved, while LB Cup has two entries for the season-opener.

Race 1 is set to take place at 8:45 p.m. local time on Saturday evening (2:45 p.m. EST) and Race 2 is scheduled for the following day at 1:20 p.m. (7:20 EST).

Both races will be streamed live on the Squadra Corse YouTube channel and Facebook page.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe