Connect with us


Baku World Challenge Entry List Released

Provisional entry list for Baku World Challenge released…

Photo:  VIMAGES/Fabre

Photo: VIMAGES/Fabre

SRO Motorsports Group has released a provisional entry list for the grand finale of the Blancpain Sprint Series, the Baku World Challenge.

As announced, the list features a maximum capacity grid of 30 cars, spread across eight different brands.

ENTRY LIST: Baku World Challenge

No less than 17 Platinum and 18 Gold-rated drivers will race in the streets of the Azari capital at the beginning of November.

In the Porsche camp, Richard Westbrook and Norbert Siedler team up in the Trackspeed-run 997 GT3-R, while the Schütz Motorsport entered car will be piloted by Marco Holzer and Martin Ragginger.

McLaren has drafted in three of its factory drivers for the occasion. Rob Bell and Kevin Estre will be reunited in Baku behind the wheel of the No. 16 Boutsen Ginion MP4-12C. The duo gave Hexis Racing second place in its last ever race back in 2013.

Chris van der Drift moves from Bhaitech to Boutsen Ginion, where he will join Belgian ace Frédéric Vervisch on the No. 15 car, with Alvaro Parente filling the New Zealander’s seat at Bhaitech.

At Team Schübert, Jens Klingman replaces season regular Thomas Jäger to team up with Dominik Baumann at helm of the No. 76 BMW Z4 GT3.

After his return to the series in Zolder last weekend, Platinum-rated Yelmer Buurman got a last minute seat in the Fortec Mercedes with Benji Hetherington.

Aside from the No. 3 G-Drive Racing Lamborghini, the Scuderia Villorba Corse Ferrari is the second season regular to miss the final round, as the team focuses on sealing the International GT Open title in Barcelona.

Vincent Wouters (@VinceWouters) is a Belgium-based sports car racing reporter, providing coverage primarily of the Blancpain GT Series.

1 Comment

More in BSS