Connect with us

GT World Challenge Europe

Marciello Fastest for AKKA ASP on Opening Day of Test

Raffaele Marciello tops both of Thursday’s test sessions at Paul Ricard…

Photo: Dirk Bogaerts/SRO

Raffaele Marciello topped the timesheets in both sessions during the opening day of pre-season testing for the GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS.

Driving one of AKKA ASP’s new Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evos, the Italian driver posted a best time of 1:53.468 at Circuit Paul Ricard during the morning session.

Seven hours of running were available throughout the day and a similar schedule is planned for Friday.

One of CMR’s Bentley Continental GT3s came closest to Marciello’s time, but its best lap was almost four-tenths down on the Mercedes.

GPX Racing was third quickest with one of its Porsche 911 GT3 Rs and led most of the afternoon session until Marciello knocked it off the top spot with another session-topping time.

Three other teams – Emil Frey Racing, Madpanda Motorsport and Attempto Racing – lapped in the 1:53s, meanwhile.

The test is so far going ahead as planned despite global Covid-19 concerns, although K-PAX Racing withdrew on Thursday morning, and Orange1 FFF Racing Team pulled out on Wednesday.

The series’ full-season entry lists were also released on Thursday afternoon.

Friday’s on-track action will get underway at 9 a.m. local time (4 a.m. EDT / 8 a.m. GMT) for four hours, before a one-hour break and a final three-hour session at 2 p.m. (9 a.m. EDT / 1 p.m. GMT).

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist who is Sportscar365's European Editor and also Managing Editor for e-racing365. He is a student of Politics and International Relations. Contact Jake

Click to comment

More in GT World Challenge Europe