Connect with us

Intercontinental GT Challenge

Team75 Bernhard Confirms 24H Spa Pro Cup Entry

Team75 Bernhard confirms 24H Spa entry; two Herberth Porsches…

Photo: Porsche

Team75 Bernhard has confirmed its entry in next month’s Total 24 Hours of Spa representing Porsche in the Pro Cup, alongside two Pro-Am cars run by Herberth Motorsport.

The team, run by overall 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Timo Bernhard, has been evaluating a participation in the Blancpain GT Series Endurance Cup’s blue riband event for some time, as previously reported by Sportscar365.

While Bernhard himself won’t be driving the car, Porsche GT factory drivers Laurens Vanthoor, Kevin Estre and Michael Christensen will share driving duties in the KÜS-backed Porsche 911 GT3 R.

“The 24 Hours of Spa will be the first 24-hour race for our fledgling team,” said Bernhard. “I’m very proud of our squad’s performance and development to now.

“Joining the long-distance scene was always one of our goals. And amongst endurance classics, Spa is one of the ultimate highlights.

“I’ll be at the racetrack for the entire time. We’ll divide up the jobs amongst the team management. It’ll be something new for me to watch a 24-hour race from the command post.”

Herberth Motorsport, which already has a full-season Blancpain GT presence, is set to add to the Porsche entry with two more cars running in the Pro-Am ranks.

The first car will be driven by Porsche factory driver Sven Mueller and Young Professional Mathieu Jaminet alongside Daniel Allemann and Ralf Bohn.

2016 Le Mans winner and reigning FIA World Endurance Champion Marc Lieb leads the second Herberth car’s lineup, alongside fellow Germans Alfred and Robert Renauer and Juergen Haering.

Porsche last won the Belgian endurance race in 2010 with Joerg Bergmeister, Wolf Henzler, Romain Durmas and Martin Ragginger.

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.


More in Intercontinental GT Challenge