Connect with us

GT World Challenge Europe

WRT Reveals New-Look Blancpain GT Lineups

WRT shakes up its GT3 lineups for 2019; announces Aberdein as first DTM driver…

Photo: Dirk Bogaerts/SRO

Belgian Audi Club Team WRT revealed its driver pairings for the upcoming Blancpain GT Series season during a launch event on Thursday evening.

It features several new faces in a considerable shake-up for the long-time Blancpain GT competitor, which will enter three Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evos in the Endurance Cup and four in World Challenge Europe this season.

Dries Vanthoor and former Grasser Racing Team driver Ezequiel Perez Companc will compete for the full season, joined by Alex Riberas for the Endurance rounds.

Rik Breukers, Charles Weerts and Ricardo Sanchez will share a car for the Endurance races, while Shae Davis, Paul Petit and Alex MacDowall complete the third entry, both of which will compete for Silver Cup honors.

Weerts, who competed for the team in the FIA GT Nations Cup last year, will be joined by Audi factory driver Christopher Mies for World Challenge Europe, meanwhile.

WRT will also run two cars in the Silver Cup for the sprint rounds, driven by pairings of Breukers and Oscar Tunjo, and Davies with Tom Gamble.

Aberdein Confirmed as First DTM Driver

WRT also confirmed Jonathan Aberdein as its first DTM driver for its maiden foray into the top-level German touring car series.

The 21-year-old South African graduates from Formula 3 competition having finished 12th in the FIA F3 European Championship last season.

He previously won the 2016-17 Formula 4 UAE Championship.

The team is yet to announce who will drive its second Audi RS5 Turbo.

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.

Click to comment

More in GT World Challenge Europe