Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

41 Entries for Daytona Pre-Season Test

Michelin Pilot Challenge roars back into action this weekend with three-day test…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

An total of 41 cars are on the entry list for this weekend’s pre-season test for IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge competitors at Daytona International Speedway.

The annual Roar Before the Rolex 24 event will feature a number of new and returning efforts in both the GS and TCR classes.

Twenty-nine cars are entered in the GS class, although 2021 class champions Wright Motorsports will not defend its title, instead focusing on its WeatherTech SportsCar Championship GTD program with Porsche. 

However, there are seven brand-new Porsche 718 GT4 RS Clubsport entries set to debut this weekend.

McCann Racing, GMG Racing, Nolasport, and BGB Motorsports join the previously confirmed GT4 RS Clubsport efforts from Team TGM and CarBahn with Peregrine Racing.

Toyota has also seen considerable year-to-year growth with five GR Supra GT4s entered. 

Pirelli GT4 America Am class champions Smooge Racing will make its IMSA debut with an entry featuring Lexus factory driver Jack Hawksworth, while Forbush Performance and Infinity Autosport join the returning pair of Riley Motorsports Supras.

Capstone Motorsports, another GT4 America outfit, has entered its Mercedes-AMG GT4, while Murillo Racing is back with its pair of Mercedes.

Aston Martin is represented with entries from VOLT Racing, NTE Sport and Automatic Racing while Turner Motorsport has returned with its pair of BMW M4 GT4s with unchanged full-season lineups.

Stephen Cameron Racing and Random Vandals Racing also have BMW machinery on the entry list.

In addition to the previously confirmed three-car Ford Mustang GT4 effort from PF Racing, KohR Motorsports has its Mustang entered as well.

With TGM making the switch to Porsche, Rebel Rock Racing is the only Chevrolet Camaro GT4.R team on the grid this year.

The TCR class sees a 12-car entry for the Roar, half of them being Bryan Herta Autosport Hyundai Elantra N TCR cars.

Among the notables in the lineup includes former IndyCar driver Robert Wickens, who is set to make his racing return in the No. 33 BHA entry.

Van der Steur Racing will field the only Hyundai Veloster N TCR in the class, while Road Shagger Racing, New German Performance and Unitronic JDC-Miller Motorsports will all have Audi RS 3 LMS TCR cars.

KMW Motorsports with TMR Engineering, meanwhile, is set to return with its Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR car with a single Honda Civic Type R TCR entered by Victor Gonzalez Racing Team.

Additional GS and TCR entries will take part in the four-hour BMW Endurance Challenge, with this weekend’s three-day test not mandatory for Pilot Challenge competitors.

IMSA released on Wednesday a 48-car entry list for next Friday’s race including notable additions from RS1, Black Swan Racing, Ian Lacy Racing, LA Honda World and HART, among others.

Pilot Challenge track action at the Roar kicks off on Friday at 9:45 a.m. ET, with an additional session scheduled for 2:45 p.m.

Two more sessions are on tap for Saturday followed by a final session on Sunday morning.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge