Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

CarBahn Audi Wins Weather-Impacted Sebring 120

Jeff Westphal, Tyle McQuarrie wins in IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge return to racing…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

Tyler McQuarrie and Jeff Westphal claimed top honors in Friday’s weather-impacted IMSA Pilot Challenge return to racing at Sebring International Raceway.

The defending GS champions held command for the majority of the two-hour scheduled race, which was red flagged for 1 hour and 15 minutes due to lightning strikes in the area.

The race ended under yellow due to nearby weather, with a full-course caution deployed with 16 minutes to go.

It resulted in limited green flag running time and mostly in drying track conditions.

While starting from pole, McQuarrie was passed by the No. 60 KohR Motorports Aston Martin Vantage GT4 of Nate Stacy with 39 minutes left on the clock.

The No. 39 CarBahn Motorsports Audi R8 LMS GT4 of Westphal, however, emerged as the leader following the round of pit stops and stayed out front from there.

Kyle Marcelli came home second in the KohR Aston, with the No. 7 Archangel Motorsports Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport of Trent Hindman and Alan Brynjolfsson completing the podium in third.

Brynjolfsson was one of the first GS cars to pit with 44 minutes to go, which helped propel Hindman into a top-three finish.

Indy Dontje in the No. 4 Winward Racing Mercedes-AMG GT4 was fourth, with Bill Auberlen completing the top-five in the No. 95 Turner Motorsport BMW M4 GT4, which ran as high as second early on in the hands of co-driver Robby Foley.

Photo: Rick Dole/IMSA

BHA 1-2 in Dominant Race for Hyundai in TCR

Bryan Herta Autosport scored a commanding class win in TCR with a sweep of the podium for Hyundai.

The No. 21 Hyundai Veloster N TCR of Mark Wilkins and Harry Gottsacker took top class honors ahead of the sister No. 98 entry of Michael Lewis and Mason Filippi in second.

Alex Papadopulos and Ben Waddell, meanwhile, finished third in the No. 47 Forty7 Motorsports entry.

The No. 33 BHA Hyundai of class pole-sitter Ryan Norman retook the lead from Gottsacker on Lap 10 through GS traffic only for an issue with the belts on the driver change to Gabby Chaves dropping the car out of contention.

It handed the class lead, at the time, to Waddell, before he pitted to fulfill the revised drive time requirements due to the earlier red flag.

The best non-Hyundai was the No. 23 FASTMD Racing with Speed Syndicate Audi RS 3 LMS TCR in fourth.

RESULTS: Advent Health 120

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge