Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

Riley Back on Track With Second Toyota Supra GT4 for Lime Rock

Riley acquires AIM Autosport chassis for No. 21 Toyota GR Supra GT4 entry…

Photo: AIM Autosport

Riley Motorsports will be back to a two-car Toyota GR Supra GT4 operation for next weekend’s IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge round at Lime Rock Park after sourcing a new car.

An accident for Scott Andrews in last month’s four-hour enduro at Watkins Glen forced the No. 21 entry out of action for the Sahlen’s 120 at The Glen last week as the team went to work to find a replacement chassis.

Longtime IMSA outfit AIM Autosport came to the rescue with its Supra GT4 that was initially intended for use in the new-for-2021 Sports Car Championship Canada presented by Michelin series.

“The opportunity came up to help a fellow North American Toyota team in need of a replacement chassis for their championship fight,” a statement from AIM read.

Bill Riley confirmed to Sportscar365 that it has already received the car in its Mooresville, N.C. shop and will be ready for next weekend’s race.

Additionally, Riley said the wrecked car will eventually be re-chassised to be used as a backup car.

Andrews will be joined by Anton Dias Perera at the wheel of the new No. 21 entry.

It is one of 36 cars on the entry list for the Lime Rock Park 120, including 22 GS class entries.

Among the other cars returning after missing the recent round include the Tioga Downs Casino 240 at The Glen-winning No. 24 Notlad Racing by RS1 Aston Martin Vantage GT4 of Patrick Gallagher and Stevan McAleer as well as the No. 52 Auto Technic Racing BMW M4 GT4.

The 14-car TCR field will see Ryan Norman back in the No. 98 Bryan Herta Autosport Hyundai Elantra N TCR after missing the Watkins Glen sprint race while Karl Wittmer and Victor Gonzalez are slated to share driving duties of the No. 88  VGMC Racing Honda Civic Type-R TCR.

The post-race penalty for the No. 94 Atlanta Speedwerks Honda of Ryan Eversley has seen BHA’s Michael Lewis and Taylor Hagler take the championship lead in TCR heading into Lime Rock Park.

Bill Auberlen and Dillon Machavern lead the way in the GS points race over Motorsports In Action’s Sheena Monk and Spencer Pigot.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge