Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

Turner Wins; KohR Claims GS Title at Sebring

Turner, BHA take wins while KohR and BHA take season long Michelin Pilot Challenge titles…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

Cameron Lawrence and Robby Foley teamed to score victory in the season finale of the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge while KohR Motorsports drivers Kyle Marcelli and Nate Stacy secured the GS class championship with a podium result in the Alan Jay Automotive Network 120 at Sebring International Raceway.

Lawrence, who was a late call up to the Turner Motorsports team when Bill Auberlen was sidelined due to potential exposure to COVID-19, did the bulk of the driving before turning the No. 95 BMW M4 GT4 over to Foley for the final run to the checkered flag.

The win was the third of the year for Foley split between the two Turner entries. Each of his victories came with a different co-driver: Bill Auberlen (VIR), Vinnie Barletta (Road Atlanta 2) and Lawrence (Sebring 2).

They were followed by Trent Hindman and Alan Brynjolfsson in the No. 7 Archangel Motorsports Aston Martin Vantage GT4 after an unexpected pit stop for Robin Liddell in the Rebel Rock Racing Chevrolet Camaro GT4.R which negated a remarkable comeback following an early drive through penalty.

Liddell handed the car back over to Frank DePew for the final few laps, but the stop dropped them down to 10th in the final running order after Liddell had charged to second during his stint.

Kyle Marcelli clinched the championship for he and co-driver Nate Stacy with a third place result ahead of Corey Lewis’ No. 3 Motorsports In Action McLaren 570S GT4 and the No. 35 Riley Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT4 of Dylan Murry.

Stacy and Marcelli entered the weekend with a healthy 15-point advantage over the CarBahn with Peregrine Racing duo of Tyler McQuarrie and Jeff Westphal and the knowledge that a top-ten finish would clinch the title.

Any drama that remained in the championship evaporated with 40 minutes to go, however, when Westphal pulled the No. 39 Audi R8 GT4 behind the wall with mechanical troubles after running towards the front all race.

Their retirement all but handing the GS crown to the KohR duo.

BHA Takes TCR Win, Clinches Championship

Mark Wilkins and Harry Gottsacker won from pole in the TCR class while their Bryan Herta Autosport teammates Gabby Chaves and Ryan Norman wrapped up the season-long title with a second place result.

Wilkins brought the No. 21 Hyundai Veloster N TCR home just ahead of the sister car.

Jon Morley and Gavin Ernstone appeared poised to break up the Hyundai domination at the front of the field in the No. 61 Road Shagger Racing Audi RS 3 LMS TCR when the car suffered damage in the final ten minutes while running in third.

That promoted the FASTMD Racing with Speed Syndicate Audi TCR of Max Faulkner and James Vance into the third and final podium position.

The championship battle swung decisively in favor of Chaves and Norman, who entered the weekend with a four point edge, when their closest rivals hit problems on the opening lap.

Mason Filippi, who shares the No. 98 Hyundai with Michael Lewis, suffered a puncture and broken lower control arm after contact with the No. 29 Hyundai of Spencer Brockman.

The damage cost them multiple laps and they were unable to recover, ultimately coming home at the back of the 12-car TCR field.

Hyundai finished the season with seven wins in ten races en route to dominating the manufacturer’s championship.

RESULTS: Alan Jay Automotive Network 120

Ryan Myrehn is an Indianapolis-based broadcaster and reporter. In addition to his work covering primarily domestic sports car racing for Sportscar365, he is the lead announcer for SRO America's TV coverage as well as a pit reporter for IndyCar Radio. Myrehn, a graduate of DePauw University, is also the host of Sportscar365's “Double Stint” Podcast.

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge