Connect with us


BMW Remains Out Front in IMSA iRacing Pro Series Title Fight

Championship heating up as IMSA iRacing Pro Series readies for penultimate round of season…

Image: BMW

Despite losing its undefeated streak in IMSA iRacing Pro Series competition last time out at Road America, BMW still holds the upper hand in the championship battle heading into next week’s penultimate round of the season.

With wins in the opening two races at Sebring International Raceway and WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca, Bruno Spengler provisionally has an eight-point lead over BMW teammate Nicky Catsburg, who scored victory at Mid-Ohio.

Meyer Shank Racing’s Shinya Michimi, meanwhile, runs third, a further 20 points back.

However, that can all change, as per series rules, points will only be awarded for each driver’s best five out of six races, which is expected to tighten up the championship fight, which could go down to the wire at Watkins Glen International next month.

A total of 50 entries are again set for next Thursday’s 90-minute race at VIR, which begins at 6 p.m. ET with coverage on the iRacing Facebook and YouTube channels.

After its breakthrough victory at Road America with Nick Tandy, Porsche will be looking for continued success, although will be down from four to three factory entries due to the expected absence of Porsche Junior Ayhancan Güven.

IMSA automatically locks in the top 25 finishing cars from the previous race, with the remainder of the grid for the following event determined by an invitational process.

Güven was forced to retire at Road America after getting collected by Matt Griffin’s Risi Competizione Ferrari 488 GTE that took the Turkish driver out of a likely second place finish. 

Tandy will again be joined by reigning GT Le Mans class champions Laurens Vanthoor and Earl Bamber, with the Kiwi set for his second series start.

Other changes include the addition of NTT IndyCar Series ace Ed Jones in the No. 64 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari, Jules Gounon in Risi’s No. 89 Ferrari as well as Michelin Pilot Challenge drivers Tom O’Gorman and Ben Waddell making their series debuts.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Esports