Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Capacity Rolex 24 Entry List Released

60 cars entered for 62nd edition of Rolex 24 at Daytona, headlined by ten GTP entries…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

IMSA has released a preliminary entry list for the 62nd running of the Rolex 24 at Daytona, featuring a number of driver lineups in a 60-car field for the WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season opener.

Published on Tuesday, the list features ten cars in GTP, 12 in LMP2, 13 in GTD Pro and 25 in GTD.

While a number of lineups across the four classes have been confirmed, the vast majority of entries still have TBAs listed, including eight teams (one in LMP2, two in GTD Pro and five in GTD) that have not yet nominated any drivers.

Teams that did not have their complete lineups finalized by Nov. 7 are subject to fines by the organizing body.

All 48 full-season entrants, as revealed back in October, are present, joined by nine Michelin Endurance Cup cars while the grid is completed by three standalone entries for the Florida endurance classic.

In the GTP class, full lineups have been confirmed for Porsche Penske Motorsport. The No. 6 Porsche 963 will see the returning full season pairing of Nick Tandy and Mathieu Jaminet team up with FIA World Endurance Championship Hypercar drivers Kevin Estre and Laurens Vanthoor.

Josef Newgarden and Fred Makowiecki join Matt Campbell and Felipe Nasr aboard the No. 7 machine.

BMW M Team RLL, meanwhile, has replaced Philipp Eng with Jesse Krohn aboard the No. 24 BMW M Hybrid V8.

Krohn and the returning Augusto Farfus team up with Dries Vanthoor, while Connor de Phillippi and Nick Yelloly are paired with Maxime Martin. Fourth drivers for both cars are yet to be confirmed.

Proton Competition is also yet to finalize the lineup for its No. 59 Porsche, with only Gianmaria Bruni and Neel Jani listed thus far.

As expected, the No. 63 Iron Lynx Lamborghini SC63 LMDh car will not compete at Daytona and is instead likely to debut at the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

All lineups in the LMP2 class remain fully or partially TBA, with no drivers listed for the No. 8 Tower Motorsports Oreca 07 Gibson.

Era Motorsport has retained its full season pairing of Dwight Merriman and Ryan Dalziel, while Joao Barbosa and Lance Willsey are listed aboard the No. 33 Sean Creech Motorsport Ligier JS P217 Gibson.

AF Corse’s No. 88 Oreca will be driven by Luis Perez Companc, Lilou Wadoux and FIA World Endurance Championship Hypercar driver Nicklas Nielsen along a fourth, yet-to-be-confirmed driver.

In GTD Pro, roughly half of the entries still have driver slots yet to be filled, including for both the No. 64 and No. 65 Ford Mustang GT3s, which are entered under the Ford Multimatic Motorsports banner.

Risi Competizione’s No. 62 Ferrari 296 GT3 will be fully staffed by Ferrari factory talent, with Daniel Serra teaming up with Davide Rigon and overall 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Alessandro Pier Guidi.

Vasser Sullivan has yet to confirm a fourth driver aboard the No. 14 Lexus RC F GT3 alongside Jack Hawksworth, Ben Barnicoat and Kyle Kirkwood while both the No. 75 SunEnergy1 Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo and No. 92 Kellymoss with Riley Porsche 911 GT3 R have no named drivers yet.

WeatherTech Racing, which took the GTD Pro class victory with a Proton Competition-run Mercedes-AMG at the event last year, has not returned to the grid. The No. 79 machine already went absent from the full season entry list, raising questions over its future.

Instead, Proton has retained a spot in the GT pack through a GTD entry for a single Ford Mustang GT3, with drivers to be announced.

The No. 55 Ford is one of three Daytona-only entries that brings the number of cars entered for the 62nd edition of the event to 60, joined by the No. 53 MDK Motorsports Porsche and the No. 80 Lone Star Racing Mercedes-AMG, both in GTD.

Triarsi Competizione’s No. 023 Ferrari will be driven by Alessio Rovera, Onofrio Triarsi, Riccardo Agostini and Charles Scardina, while two further 296 GT3s are entered by AF Corse and Cetilar Racing.

Simon Mann will share the No. 21 Ferrari with Francois Heriau and Kei Cozzolino, while Roberto Lacorte, Giorgio Sernagiotto and Eddie Cheever III pilot the No. 47 machine.

Magnus Racing’s returning trio of Andy Lally, John Potter and Spencer Pumpelly will be joined by a to-be-confirmed fourth driver, while Vasser Sullivan has retained Frankie Montecalvo, Aaron Telitz and Parker Thompson for the No. 12 Lexus.

Gradient Racing’s all-female pairing of Katherine Legge and Sheena Monk looks set to continue for a second season aboard the No. 66 Acura NSX GT3 Evo22, while Russell Ward teams up with Daniel Morad aboard the No. 57 Winward Racing Mercedes-AMG.

Similarly, Forte Racing, which took a breakthrough GTD class win at last month’s Motul Petit Le Mans, returns with its No. 78 Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO2 again driven by Misha Goikhberg and Loris Spinelli alongside two as yet unnamed co-drivers.

Turner Motorsport’s lone BMW M4 GT3 will be driven by Robby Foley, Patrick Gallagher, Michael Dinan and Jens Klingmann.

Davey Euwema is Sportscar365's European Editor. Based in The Netherlands, Euwema covers the FIA World Endurance Championship, European Le Mans Series and Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS, among other series.

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship