Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Rum Bum, Snow Join Forces for Sebring

Matt Plumb to be joined by Madison Snow, Jan Heylen in No. 13 Porsche…

Photo: IMSA

Photo: IMSA

Rum Bum Racing will return to top-level of IMSA competition next month, having announced a Porsche GTD effort for the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

The two-time Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge championship-winning squad has joined forces with Wright Motorsports to campaign a Porsche 911 GT America in the second round of the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship season.

The team will be utilizing the Snow Racing entry, which finished third in class at last month’s Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Open-wheel and sports car veteran Jan Heylen and 18-year-old Madison Snow will be joined by Rum Bum regular Matt Plumb. Joe Varde will be calling the shots atop the pit box, with technical support from John Wright of Wright Motorsports.

“This is an exciting opportunity for Rum Bum Racing and I couldn’t be happier about how everything came together for this Sebring campaign,” said Plumb. “Getting the chance to move up to the GTD Class, which we’ve already seen is incredibly competitive, is a very positive step for the organization.

“The 12 Hour is a very big race and this year it should be the best yet. All the ingredients are here for this effort so everyone is just chomping at the bit to get going in testing this week!”

The Luis Bacardi-owned team finished on the GT class podium in last year’s Rolex 24 in an Audi R8 GRAND-AM car, in what was Rum Bum’s only top-level IMSA start to date.

While TUDOR Championship plans beyond Sebring have yet to be decided, the team will continue its pursuit of a third consecutive CTSC title with Plumb and Nick Longhi set for the entire season in the GS class.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship