Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Tincknell, Bomarito Deliver Third Straight Win for Mazda

Harry Tincknell, Jonathan Bomarito give Mazda Team Joest third straight win…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

Mazda Team Joest has claimed its third straight IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship victory following a controlling run in Sunday’s Road Race Showcase at Road America.

Harry Tincknell drove the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P to a 0.227-second win over the pole-sitting No. 6 Team Penske Acura ARX-05 of Dane Cameron in the 2 hour and 40-minute caution-free contest that delivered a new distance record.

Tincknell took over the lead on Lap 37 in a bold move on the outside of Juan Pablo Montoya in Turn 1 and slowly extended his gap over the DPi championship-leading Acura.

The gap, however, closed through traffic in the final five minutes, with Tincknell able to defend from Cameron in a thrilling two-lap shootout.

A fighting effort from Oliver Jarvis nearly made it another Mazda 1-2, although a slower final stop for the No. 77 car with 30 minutes to go solidified the runner-up position to Cameron and Montoya.

Jarvis and Tristan Nunez, who completed a middle stint in the Multimatic-built prototype, competed the podium in third.

Felipe Nasr and Pipo Derani were the best of the Cadillac DPi-V.Rs, finishing fourth in the No. 31 Whelen Engineering Racing entry, ahead of the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac of Jordan Taylor and Renger van der Zande.

The Dutchman, who started from the rear of the DPi field due to a post-qualifying tire change, charged from 10th to sixth on the first lap and benefited from an unscheduled stop for the No. 7 Penske Acura to finish in the top-five.

Debris lodged in the splitter of the Ricky Taylor-driven Acura forced the car into the pits on Lap 34, and was unable to recover, finishing seventh, behind the No. 5 Mustang Sampling Racing Cadillac.

The pair of JDC-Miller Motorsports Cadillacs were eighth and ninth, while CORE autosport’s Nissan DPi retired in the final 20 minutes with gearbox failure.

It came after a spin from contact with the No. 4 Chevrolet Corvette C7.R of Tommy Milner in the final corner.

PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports scored its fourth consecutive LMP2 class win, with Matt McMurry and series debutant Patrick Kelly taking the No. 52 Oreca 07 Gibson to a 31-second win over the Performance Tech Motorsports entry.

Both entries had a change of starting drivers, which put the Bobby Oergel-led PR1 squad on pole despite losing the top qualifying position on Saturday due to a red flag caused by McMurry.

RESULTS: Road Race Showcase

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship