Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

34 Entries for North America Super Trofeo EVO2 Debut

Near-capacity field for opening race of Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America at Laguna Seca…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

A total of 34 cars are set for this weekend’s Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America season-opener at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca, marking the U.S. debut of the new Huracan Super Trofeo EVO2 model.

The entry list for Rounds 1 and 2 of the single-make championship features a near-capacity grid including seven cars that will battle for overall honors in the Pro class.

While reigning overall champion Richard Antinucci will compete in the Pro-Am category this year alongside Justin Price, the top class sees a number of new and returning challengers including Prestige Performance with Wayne Taylor Racing’s Kyle Marcelli and Danny Formal.

The duo and teammate Aidan Yoder line up in the Pro class alongside separate Dream Racing entries for Edoardo Liberati and Luke Berkeley, who graduates into the top class after winning the Am title last year.

Super Trofeo veterans Edoardo Piscopo and Patrick Kujala, meanwhile, will team up in US RaceTronics’ No. 50 entry, while Loris Spinelli and Giano Taurino will share driving duties of the No. 88 Taurino Racing by D Motorsports Lamborghini.

Former IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge champion Billy Johnson competes the Pro class grid in his TPC Racing entry.

Six Pro-Am cars are entered for Laguna, including the aforementioned Dream Racing entry for Antinucci and Price, Damon Ockey and Patrick Liddy for US RaceTronics, the debut of Flying Lizard Motorsports with drivers Brett Jacobsen and Joel Miller as well as the returning Ashton Harrison, who will share driving duties of her WTR Lamborghini with longtime driver coach Tom Long.

Precision Performance Motorsports will have two Lamborghinis in Pro-Am, for the pairings of Bryan Ortiz/Sebastian Carazo and David Staab/Nikko Reger.

The Am class, featuring 13 entries, sees the highest car count of the four categories, with efforts from WTR, Flying Lizard, Dream Racing, TPC, Forty7 Motorsports, NTE Sport, US RaceTronics, TR3 Racing, MCR Racing and PPM all represented.

LB Cup, meanwhile, sees an eight-car entry with similar representation from teams fielding cars in other classes.

Track action gets underway on Friday with a pair of practice sessions followed by qualifying Saturday morning. Race 1 takes the green flag Saturday at 1:50 p.m. PT (4:50 p.m. ET) while Race 2 is scheduled for Sunday at 9:40 a.m. PT (12:40 p.m. ET) with both races carried live on, Peacock and Lamborghini Squadra Corse’s Web site.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA