Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Formal, Marcelli Claim Back-to-Back Titles With Race 2 Podium

Marcelli, Formal finish second in Indy Race 2 to seal second straight Super Trofeo title…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

Kyle Marcelli and Danny Formal secured their second consecutive Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America title by finishing second in Race 2 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti Autosport duo hold a 40-point advantage over nearest rival and stablemate Ryan Norman heading into the Lamborghini World Finals event at Vallelunga, where 32 points will be available.

Formal and Marcelli enjoyed a dominant season aboard the No. 1 Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo EVO2, taking eight consecutive race victories en route to the title.

Their streak was halted by Norman’s No. 84 WTR Andretti Lamborghini taking victory during Race 1 on Saturday, who doubled up with a second straight win on Sunday morning.

Marcelli started the race from pole position, but Norman beat the Canadian driver on the run down to Turn 1 to take the race lead.

Attempts to build an early lead were rendered null and void when Alan Grossberg was pitched into the wall on the main straight after an apparent failure on the left rear corner of the car.

The TPC Racing driver walked away from the crash under his own strength, with the incident triggering the race’s first and only Full Course Yellow.

As the race restarted and the pit window opened, Norman extended his opening stint in an attempt to open up a sufficient enough gap over the No. 1 car to cover the additional three seconds stationary in the pits for a single driver entry.

The strategy paid off, with Norman rejoining the track just ahead of Formal and retaining the lead.

Formal pressured his stablemate in the closing stages, but Norman crossed the line just 0.709 seconds ahead to take his second win of the season.

Jake Walker completed the podium in the No. 77 Forty7 Motorsports entry, ahead of Pro-Am class winners Luke Berkeley and Keawn Tandon.

Nate Stacy and Nick Persing rounded out the top five in the No. 8 WTR Andretti Lamborghini, ahead of the TR3 Racing duo of Giano Taurino and Lucas Petersson.

Taurino recovered to sixth after early contact from Sebastian Saavedra left the No. 88 machine spinning out of podium position with Petersson at the wheel.

Saavedra served a drive-through penalty for the infraction and finished the race in 17th aboard the No. 30 ANSA Motorsports car he shares with Nico Jamin.

Pro-Am entries formed the remainder of the top ten, with Nikko Reger and Shehan Chandrasoma completing the class podium ahead of Andy Lee and Slate Stewart.

Glenn McGee secured the Am-class victory when he moved the No. 69 Precision Performance Motorsports car he shares with Anthony McIntosh past the No. 9 sister car of Wesley Slimp with four minutes remaining.

Meanwhile, a late-race incident for Graham Doyle decided the LB Cup battle in favor of the No. 50 Forte Racing by US RaceTronics entry of Mark Wilgus.

Doyle led the class and looked on track for a second victory of the weekend when he was hit by the No. 24 Lamborghini of Kevin Madsen, damaging the No. 10 WTR Andretti car and ending his race.


Davey Euwema is a Sportscar365 reporter based in The Netherlands, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, DTM, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA