Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Hindman, Agostini Clinch Lamborghini ST Title with Race 1 Win in Imola

Trent Hindman and Riccardo Agostini clinched the Lamborghini ST NA championship with a dominant win in Race 1 in Imola…

Photo: Lamborghini

Trent Hindman and Riccardo Agostini clinched the Lamborghini Super Trofeo North American championship with a dominant win in Race 1 of the weekend in Imola.

The Italian Agostini started the race from pole in the No. 101 Prestige Performance Lamborghini Huracan and quickly built up a commanding lead over Change Racing drivers Edoardo Piscopo and Jeroen Mul who ran second and third in the early going.

After all three front runners made their mandatory pit stop with around 25 minutes to go, Hindman held a lead of over twelve seconds after taking the reins from Agostini.

That advantage was wiped away when the safety car was deployed ten minutes later, setting up a dash to the checkered flag in the final 11 minutes.

Hindman got a strong restart and held off Mul by 2.213 seconds to claim the win, having locked up the season championship by completing 70 percent race distance earlier.

Brandon Gdovic finished third overall and in the Pro category for Change Racing while Austin Versteeg finished fourth overall and first in the Pro-Am class after passing Piscopo’s co-driver Taylor Proto for the class lead in the waning minutes.

Proto and Piscopo finished fifth overall and second in class.

Other class winners were Yuki Harata in the Am category and Ryan Hardwick in LB Cup, both driving for Dream Racing Motorsport.

Afiq Yazid and Kei Cozzolino won overall in the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia race which ran concurrently.

Race 2 is scheduled for 1:30 p.m. local time with live streaming coverage available here.


Ryan Myrehn is an Indianapolis-based broadcaster and reporter. In addition to his work covering primarily domestic sports car racing for Sportscar365, he is the lead announcer for SRO America's TV coverage as well as a pit reporter for IndyCar Radio. Myrehn, a graduate of DePauw University, is also the host of Sportscar365's “Double Stint” Podcast.

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA