Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

PPM Sweeps Weekend; Ockey, Eidson Clinch Pro-Am Title

Brandon Gdovic, Conor Daly win penalty-filled Super Trofeo Race 2 at Laguna…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

Brandon Gdovic and Conor Daly have claimed a sweep of the Lamborghini Super Trofro North America weekend at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca, with PPM claiming victory in Sunday’s Race 2.

Gdovic took the No. 46 Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofro Evo to a 0.258-second win on the road over the No. 1 Prestige Performance/Wayne Taylor Racing entry of Sandy Mitchell in the penalty-filled race.

It came after a costly drive-through penalty for the Pro class championship-leading No. 29 Change Racing entry of Corey Lewis and Richard Antinucci for not meeting the minimum pit stop time.

Antinucci, who was leading at the time, dropped to fifth overall and fourth in class although made a last-lap pass on the No. 27 Dream Racing Lamborghini of Paolo Ruberti come home third overall.

The race-winning PPM Lamborghini was also too quick in pit lane but was instead given a 0.234-second post-race time penalty, which did not affect the outcome.

Mitchell, who came in second, faced a post-race penalty as well, although due to an incorrect start procedure by co-driver Andrea Amici. The Scot retained his runner-up finish.

Ockey, Eidson Clinch Pro-Am Title

Damon Ockey and Jake Eidson locked up the Pro-Am class championship with another class win on Sunday, despite also facing a five-second post-race penalty for the same start procedure infraction.

The 50-minute race started under the safety car following an accident for the No. 88 GMG Racing Lamborghini of Jonathan Hirshberg although restarted in a two-by-two formation, leading to some confusion.

Am class honors again went to the No. 14 GMG Racing Lamborghini of James Soforonas, who held off a hard-charging Steven Aghakhani for the class win.

Despite the runner-up finish, Aghakhani again made up ground on class championship leader McKay Snow, who spun early and finished fourth in class.

LB Cup class honors, meanwhile, went to the No. 3 Dream Racing Lamborghini of Randy Sellari, following retirements for the two top-finishing cars from Saturday.

A collision between Mel Johnson and Justin Price prior to the pit stop window opening led Race 1 winners Price and Chad Reed to retire, while the No. 43 Prestige/WTR entry of Stephanie Cemo completed only nine laps.


John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA