Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Spinelli, Perez Take Overall Win in Race 2

Loris Spinelli, JC Perez claim overall win in Race 2 of Lamborghini Super Trofeo at WRLS…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

JC Perez and Loris Spinelli claimed overall victory in Sunday’s Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America round at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca. 

The P1 Motorsports duo, who wrapped up the Pro-Am class championship following Saturday’s race, used a late pass to earn the outright win in the 50-minute race. 

After the mandatory pit window ended, Spinelli took over for Perez and slowly closed the gap on the No. 1 Wayne Taylor Racing Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo EVO of  Trent Hindman.

Spinelli passed Hindman in Turn 2 with three minutes to go and then increased his lead to almost three seconds to take the checkered flag.

The victory was the duo’s eighth of the season. After a third-place finish in the first race of the season at Mid-Ohio, Perez and Spinelli has won all eight of the races they have finished since then.

“This weekend was great, actually yesterday we deserved to win, but unfortunately it was just things with luck I guess,” Perez said.

Spinelli added: “I don’t have words for that race today. Today we won overall and this is fantastic. We finished the job here, but we will keep working hard for the final two races.”

Hindman, along with his co-driver Jonathan Cecotto, managed to claim the Pro class win, their third of the season. The result came on the heels of a DNF in Saturday’s race.

Contact between Stevan McAleer in the No. 10 WTR Lamborghini and teammate Alex Popow brought out a full course caution on the opening lap, which lasted for almost 13 minutes. 

In that incident, the championship-leading No. 50 US RaceTronics entry of Taylor Proto suffered damage to its right front and while they were able to return later in the race, they were several laps down.

Proto and co-driver Edoardo Piscopo were not classified at the end, although have held onto the points lead by one point over Change Racing’s Corey Lewis and Madison Snow, who finished third overall and 2nd in class on Sunday.

Damon Ockey returned to the top of the Am class podium with his third victory of the year, holding off class leader Ryan Hardwick for the win. 

Ockey, in the No. 09 US RaceTronics Lamborghini, has closed the championship gap to six points to Hardwick.

Brett Meredith, meanwhile, claimed LB Cup honors, although US RaceTronics’ Parris Mullins and Mark Proto wrapped up the title with a second place class finish.

The final two races of the North America season will take place at Vallelunga, Italy in November. 


The latest news, photos and video features from the trusted Sportscar365 web staff.

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA