Connect with us

24H Le Mans

Kristensen to Serve as Grand Marshal for 24H Le Mans

Tom Kristensen to serve as grand marshal for 24H Le Mans…

Photo: Audi

Photo: Audi

Tom Kristensen has been named the Grand Marshal for the 83rd edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

The nine-time Le Mans winner, who retired from active competition at the end of last year, will follow in the footsteps of his former teammate, Allan McNish, who had the honor during the 2014 race.

Kristensen, considered the most successful sports car racing driver of this generation, will drive the pace car during the formation lap for the twice-around-the-clock French endurance classic.

Bill Ford Jr., executive chairman of the Ford Motor Company, meanwhile, will serve as the race starter, by dropping the tri-colour flag.

Kristensen made 18 starts in the famed race, which included six consecutive wins from 2000-05. He was also crowned the 2013 FIA World Endurance Champion, sharing the title with McNish and Loic Duval.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in 24H Le Mans