Connect with us

Road to Le Mans

34-Car Entry for Fifth Edition of Road to Le Mans

23 LMP3 cars and 11 GT3s make up Road to Le Mans entry for the competition’s fifth edition…

Photo: MPS Agency

The entry list for the fifth edition of Road to Le Mans has been published with a total of 34 cars set to compete in the main support races for the 24 Hours of Le Mans next week.

A field of 23 second-generation LMP3 cars and 11 GT3s are confirmed to tackle the pair of 55-minute races being held at the Circuit de la Sarthe next Friday and Saturday.

The car count is the smallest in the competition’s five-year history while there are 15 fewer cars than the 2019 entry which had 32 LMP3s and 17 GT3s taking part.

Most of the cars are Michelin Le Mans Cup full-season entries scoring points for their championship. 

The LMP3 grid can be split between eight Duqueine M30-D08 Nissans and 15 Ligier JS P320 Nissans.

United Autosports has the largest presence in the prototype class with a total of four Ligiers, while five teams – DKR Engineering, Cool Racing, CD Sport, Nielsen Racing and Rinaldi Racing – each have two cars entered.

LMP3 points leaders and former Road to Le Mans winners Jean Glorieux and Laurents Hoerr will drive the No. 3 DKR Engineering Duqueine.

Their closest rivals in the championship are Matthias Kaiser and Rory Penttinen who will be sharing the No. 26 Graff Ligier.

Cool Racing has been on a roll in Le Mans Cup recently and its two lineups that won the most recent races at Spa and Paul Ricard are present on the Road to Le Mans grid.

Spa winners Edouard Cauhaupe and Nicolas Maulini are in the No. 37 Ligier, while Maurice Smith and Matt Bell are driving the team’s No. 69 Ligier.

The GT3 entry is dominated by Ferrari 488 GT3 Evos with the Iron Lynx and Kessel Racing teams mobilizing three Italian cars each.

Points leaders Rino Mastronardi and Giacomo Piccini, who won the first two Le Mans Cup rounds and finished third last time out at Ricard, are driving the No. 8 Iron Lynx car.

Reigning GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS champion FFF Racing Team will compete with a Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo for factory driver and team principal Andrea Caldarelli, and Sprint Cup class champion Hiroshi Hamaguchi.

Fellow GTWC Europe entrant Sky-Tempesta Racing is also listed with a Ferrari for Endurance Cup co-drivers Chris Froggatt and Jonathan Hui.

The field includes two Porsche 911 GT3 Rs, one for Julien Andlauer and Nicolas Leutwiler who won the previous Le Mans Cup race, and another for Pierre-Etienne Bordet and Alexandre Viron of the Delahaye Racing Team.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Road to Le Mans