Connect with us


Two-Car Iron Lynx Entry Among Ferrari GTE-Am Quintet

Iron Lynx to make WEC debut in GTE-Am alongside AF Corse, Cetilar Racing Ferraris…

Photo: Jakob Ebrey/ELMS

Iron Lynx will make its FIA World Endurance Championship debut this year with a two-car entry as part of Ferrari’s five-car contingent in the GTE-Am category.

European Le Mans Series outfit Iron Lynx will run a pair of Ferrari 488 GTE Evos on the global stage this year, including an entry for the all-female No. 85 lineup of Rahel Frey, Manuela Gostner and Michelle Gatting.

The ‘Iron Dames’ trio first teamed up for an ELMS GTE entry with Kessel Racing in 2019 and continued in the series last year after finishing fourth in the standings.

The 2020 season heralded another fourth-place championship result for the crew following podiums in both Paul Ricard races and the 4 Hours of Monza.

Frey, Gatting and Gostner also teamed up for the two most recent editions of the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Iron Lynx’s No. 60 car will be driven by Claudio Schiavoni, Matteo Cressoni and team co-founder Andrea Piccini.

Schiavoni and Piccini drove together in the ELMS, while Cressoni joined Piccini and Rino Mastronardi at Le Mans last September.

In addition to Iron Lynx, Ferrari’s GTE-Am stable for the 2021 WEC season will include two cars from AF Corse and a single entry for Cetilar Racing which is run by AF.

Defending class champion Francois Perrodo will remain at Ferrari after considering other manufacturers for his title defense.

The London-based Frenchman will be joined in the No. 83 machine by his co-champion Nicklas Nielsen and new recruit Alessio Rovera.

25-year-old Italian Rovera won last year’s Italian GT Endurance Championship and also joined Perrodo and his former WEC teammate Emmanuel Collard for an ELMS race.

Perrodo is also expected to contest the ELMS season in an AF Corse Ferrari with Rovera and Collard.

The other AF Corse WEC car features the unchanged No. 54 lineup of Francesco Castellacci, Thomas Flohr and Giancarlo Fisichella who are set for a third term together.

Cetilar Racing has yet to name the drivers for its switch to the GTE-Am category from LMP2, with team owner Roberto Lacorte the only pilot confirmed so far.

More WEC team announcements are expected to be made over the next couple of days, ahead of the full-season entry list reveal on Thursday.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in FIA WEC