Connect with us

24H Le Mans

Nasr, Tandy Complete No. 4 Porsche Lineup for Le Mans

Porsche keeps identical lineup for third Hypercar entry; no Le Mans debut for Vettel…

Photo: Porsche

Felipe Nasr and Nick Tandy will complete Porsche Penske Motorsport’s for the 24 Hours of Le Mans, with Porsche not opting to give Sebastian Vettel a race seat for the French endurance classic.

Confirmed as part of an updated entry list issued by the ACO on Monday, the two full-season IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship drivers will team up with Mathieu Jaminet aboard the No. 4 Porsche 963.

The confirmation means Porsche has opted to go with an unchanged lineup for its third entry compared to last year, when Nasr, Tandy and Jaminet drove the No. 75 car.

Notably, Porsche has opted not to give four-time Formula 1 world champion Sebastian Vettel a race role for Le Mans after the German tested a 963 at Motorland Aragon in March.

“After announcing the entry of a third car in Le Mans, we still had two driver positions available,” said Porsche’s factory LMDh director Urs Kuratle.

“The decision was not easy for us given our very strong and equally skilled squad. Ultimately, one of the deciding factors was having Le Mans experience.

“Nick Tandy has competed there eleven times and won with Porsche in 2015. Felipe Nasr has four races at the Sarthe under his belt.

“Moreover, the trio impressed us with strong lap times and great teamwork during their joint campaign at Le Mans in 2023.”

Dane Cameron has been named as the reserve driver for Porsche’s Le Mans effort.

Elsewhere, all driver lineups for the 92nd edition of the French endurance classic have been confirmed, with a number of TBCs across all classes now filled up.

Peugeot, which had four names not yet listed across its pair of 9X8 Hypercars, has named its regular full-season FIA World Endurance Championship driver combinations.

As confirmed earlier on Monday, Felipe Drugovich will drive the No. 311 Action Express Racing Cadillac V-Series.R alongside Pipo Derani and Jack Aitken.

Alpine has listed Ferdinand Habsburg aboard the No. 35 Alpine A424 alongside Paul-Loup Chatin and Charles Milesi. He will be replaced at this weekend’s 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps by reserve driver Jules Gounon.

In the LMP2 class, Proton Competition European Le Mans Series regular Bent Viscaal has been confirmed aboard the No. 9 Oreca 07 Gibson alongside Maceo Capietto and Jonas Ried.

Viscaal effectively replaces Matteo Cairoli, who will pilot the No. 19 Lamborghini SC63 in the Hypercar class instead.

Alex Quinn has been named as the final driver aboard the No. 14 AO by TF entry, teaming up with PJ Hyett and Louis Deletraz.

Nielsen Racing has revamped the lineup for its No. 24 car, with Albert Costa replaced and the British squad welcoming Kyffin Simpson and Fabio Scherer alongside David Heinemeier Hansson.

Jordan Taylor Joins Spirit of Race LMGT3 Effort

In the 23-car LMGT3 class, Jordan Taylor has been confirmed as the third driver aboard the No. 155 Spirit of Race Ferrari 296 GT3.

The Swiss-flagged outfit altered its lineup last week, with Bronze-rated driver Johnny Laursen replacing Duncan Cameron and further changes to the driver crew likely at the time.

On Monday, it was confirmed that Acura factory driver Taylor will return to Le Mans after a one-year absence to drive alongside the senior Laursen and his son Conrad.

It will be Taylor’s first notable race outing with the Prancing Horse, having previously taken a GTE-Pro class win at Le Mans with Corvette in 2015.

Elsewhere in the class, Proton Competition has sured up the lineup for its No. 44 Ford Mustang GT3, with team principal Christian Ried set to return to racing alongside Ben Tuck and Ford Performance factory driver Christopher Mies.

Mies, a GT racing veteran, will make his Le Mans debut, while Larry ten Voorde is also set for his first start in the French endurance classic.

The Dutchman will drive the No. 66 JMW Motorsport Ferrari alongside Giacomo Petrobelli and Salih Yoluc.

Finally, Daniel Serra and Riccardo Pera have been confirmed to be joining Mike Wainwright in the No. 86 GR Racing entry.

Davey Euwema is Sportscar365's European Editor. Based in The Netherlands, Euwema covers the FIA World Endurance Championship, European Le Mans Series and Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS, among other series.

Click to comment

More in 24H Le Mans