Connect with us


ADAC Unveils DTM Plans Following Series Takeover

ADAC reveals changes to DTM ahead of 2023 season after taking series ownership…

Photo: Gruppe C Photography

ADAC has revealed its plans for DTM after obtaining the branding rights for the series from ITR, retaining the single-driver sprint format as part of a new pyramid structure.

The sanctioning body for ADAC GT Masters as well as GT4 Germany and TCR Germany, took over control of the championship from longtime promoter ITR, which will close its doors.

The DTM series will now sit at the top of the series’ umbrella, retaining the single-driver sprint format for the 2023 series.

Notably, Platinum-rated drivers will not be allowed to compete in GT Masters and can only race in DTM.

Significantly, SRO Motorsports Group has been brought in to manage the Balance of Performance process for the series starting in 2023, taking over from AVL which ran it since DTM’s switch to GT3 machinery in 2021.

As part of the change, the series will also see a change in tire supplier, moving away from Michelin to Pirelli to bring it in line with GT Masters.

“The DTM is highly regarded internationally and enjoys an excellent reputation across borders – however, the heart of the DTM beats in Germany,” said ADAC Sport President Dr. Gerd Ennser.

“It was of great concern to us, shortly after acquiring the trademark rights, to allow the teams to plan with certainty.

“In achieving this, it was important to focus on the core market. The ADAC is taking on a great legacy and will continue to organise the DTM, with its cross-country appeal, as a strong international brand on the European motorsport scene.

“With sustainable and future-oriented structures, we are creating a strong platform for German motorsport.”

On the second tier, named as ‘DTM Endurance’, GT Masters and the Prototype Cup Germany can be found.

The tier below DTM Endurance has been reserved for GT4 Germany and TCR Germany, which is described as the ‘Pro/Am & Junior Level’.

Eight-Round Calendar for 2023 season; Oschersleben and Zandvoort Return

ADAC also confirmed the calendar for DTM’s 2023 season, comprising of eight rounds in Germany, Austria and The Netherlands.

The season opener takes place at Oschersleben on May 26-28, bringing the series back to a venue it visited regularly until 2015.

Similarly, Zandvoort returns to the schedule for the first time since 2018 for the second round, while the Sachsenring is also a new addition.

The Norisring, Nürburgring, Lausitzring, Red Bull Ring and Hockenheim have all been retained, with the latter acting as the season finale.

2023 DTM Schedule:
May 26-28 — Oschersleben
June 23-25 — Zandvoort
July 7-9 — Norisring
Aug. 4-6 — Nürburgring
Aug. 18-20 — Lausitzring
Sept. 8-10 — Sachsenring
Sept. 22-24 — Red Bull Ring
Oct. 20-22 — Hockenheimring

Davey Euwema is Sportscar365's European Editor. Based in The Netherlands, Euwema covers the FIA World Endurance Championship, European Le Mans Series and Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS, among other series.

Click to comment

More in DTM