Connect with us

Nürburgring Endurance

Audi Sets Lineup for R8 LMS GT4 Debut at N24

Audi sets driver lineup for R8 LMS GT4 debut…

Photo: Audi

Photo: Audi

Audi has set the driver lineup for the competition debut of its new R8 LMS GT4 car at the Nürburgring 24, which will see Audi Sport Team Phoenix enter a pair of entries in the SPX category.

DTM aces Christian Abt, Rahel Frey, Patrick Huisman and Peter Terting will pilot the No. 17 Audi, with Terting, the reigning GT4 European Northern Cup champion, also confirmed in the No. 18 entry alongside 2016 Audi Sport TT Cup winner Joonas Lappalainen, as well as Alex Yoong and Alexander Mies.

Ex-Formula One driver Yoong claimed his third consecutive Audi R8 LMS Cup championship last year, with Mies, the younger brother of Audi Sport GT factory pool driver Christopher, having won the VLN title in 2016.

Customer deliveries of the car, which is set to be homologated by the SRO later this summer, is expected to begin late this year, ahead of a full rollout to GT4 championships worldwide in 2018.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Nürburgring Endurance