Connect with us

Nürburgring Endurance

Defending Winner BMW Names N24 Driver Lineups

ROWE, Schubert, Walkenhorst, Junior Team to represent BMW in Nürburgring 24…

Image: BMW

BMW has declared its SP9 driver lineups for next month’s Nürburgring 24 with defending winners Nicky Catsburg, Nick Yelloly and Alexander Sims returning across two teams.

Sims will drive for N24 returnee Schubert Motorsport after winning last year’s edition of the Eifel enduro with Catsburg and Yelloly, who have remained at ROWE Racing.

Schubert’s No. 20 BMW M6 GT3 will also be driven by Jesse Krohn, Jens Klingmann and Stef Dusseldorp. The quartet raced together in last weekend’s four-hour NLS round.

Schubert, which has operated BMWs in recent seasons of ADAC GT Masters, is making its first appearance in the GT3-based SP9 category since 2017.

ROWE Racing is again tackling the N24 with a pair of BMWs following its 2020 triumph, while Catsburg and Yelloly will compete under the No. 1 designation this time around.

The pair will be joined by fellow factory drivers John Edwards and Philipp Eng.

ROWE’s sister entry features Connor de Phillippi and Sheldon van der Linde alongside DTM champions Marco Wittmann and Martin Tomczyk.

Van der Linde and Tomczyk finished third last year for Schnitzer Motorsport, which saw its long-standing partnership with BMW come to a close at the end of last year.

Walkenhorst Motorsport has added a third car to its N24 stable since the 2020 race.

David Pittard, Ben Tuck and 2018 Total 24 Hours of Spa winner Christian Krognes will pilot one of the team’s entries with a fourth driver who is yet to be announced.

Former FIA World Touring car ace Joerg Mueller will team up with Sami-Matti Trogen, Mario von Bohlen and former Porsche Supercup front-runner Jakub Giermaziak.

The third Walkenhorst entry is set to compete in the SP9 Am bracket with the crew of Henry Walkenhorst, Joerg Breuer, Andreas Ziegler and Friedrich von Bohlen.

The seventh BMW entry for the N24 is the BMW Junior Team setup involving Dan Harper, Max Hesse and Neil Verhagen who were the highest-finishing GT4 crew last year.

They will be supported by Rolex 24 at Daytona class winner and FIA World Endurance Championship driver Augusto Farfus, who was a member of Schnitzer’s 2020 squad.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Nürburgring Endurance