Connect with us

Nürburgring Endurance

Farfus Puts Marc VDS BMW on Nürburgring 24 Pole

Augusto Farfus puts Marc VDS BMW on Nürburgring 24 pole…

Photo: Eric Gilbert/

Photo: Eric Gilbert/

BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS will start tomorrow’s Nürburgring 24 from the overall pole, following a pair of quick laps from Augusto Farfus in Top-30 qualifying Friday at the Nordscheife.

Farfus reeled off a best time of 8:17.394 in the shootout, improving on his 8:17.531 lap set on his first flying lap in the No. 26 BMW Z4 GT3. Both times would have been good enough for pole.

The DTM driver’s time was 0.947 seconds quicker than the No. 2 Black Falcon Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 of Adam Christodoulou, who moved to second following his 8:18.341 lap in the gull-winged beast.

Christodoulou denied a BMW 1-2-3 qualifying effort as a result, with the Nos. 20 and 19 Schubert-entered cars ending up third and fourth overall, qualified by Jens Klingmann and Dirk Mueller, respectively.

Farfus, who becomes the first Brazilian to score pole for the twice-around-the-clock endurance classic, will share the wheel of his BMW with Joerg Mueller, Nick Catsburg and Dirk Adorf this weekend.

BMW seeks its first N24 win since 2010, a race which Farfus and Joerg Mueller scored top honors with Uwe Alzen and Pedro Lamy in a Schnitzer-run M3 GT2 car.

The No. 29 Audi Sport Team WRT Audi R8 LMS, making its 24-hour race debut, will start fifth overall and in the SP9 GT3 class, while Maxime Martin made it four BMWs in the top-six with his No. 25 Marc VDS entry.

The top-10 was completed by Nico Mueller (No. 29 WRT Audi), Lance David Arnold (No. 84 Bentley), Rene Rast (No. 1 Audi) and Frank Stippler (No. 4 Audi).

While BMW and Audi dominated the front of the pack in numbers, Aston Martin, Porsche, Mercedes and Bentley are also expected to be contenders for top honors.

The No. 10 Wochenspiegel Team Manthey Porsche 911 GT3 RSR claimed SP-Pro class pole with the 22nd quickest time overall, while the remaining Scuderia Cameron Glickenhaus SCG003C qualified 24th with its SP-X class car.

Other class pole-sitters include the No. 92 Manthey Racing Porsche 911 GT3 Cup MR (SP7).

The ADAC Zurich 24h-Rennen gets underway Saturday at 4 p.m. local (10 a.m. ET), with live streaming coverage available at

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in Nürburgring Endurance