Connect with us

Nürburgring Endurance

Manthey EMA Announces Porsche Factory Lineup for N24

Manthey confirms EMA partnership for N24 program; Preining replaces Vanthoor in lineup…

Image: Manthey EMA

Manthey EMA has announced an all-star Porsche factory driver lineup for its Nürburgring 24 entry with the new Type-992 Porsche 911 GT3 R.

Porsche LMDh drivers Kevin Estre, Michael Christensen and Frederic Makowiecki will be joined by DTM ace Thomas Preining for the Nordschleife enduro on May 20-21.

Preining, who drove for Dinamic Motorsport last year, is the new face in the lineup replacing Laurens Vanthoor.

As reported by Sportscar365 last month, seven-time N24 winner Manthey is linking up with Australian team EMA Motorsport for the next edition of the N24, adding to a recently-announced partnership in the DTM.

“We want to fight for our eighth overall victory this year in what is probably the most important individual race for us,” said Manthey managing director Nicolas Raeder.

“Our driver lineup is promising and the Nordschleife is our ‘home track’. With the latest generation of the Porsche 911 GT3 R, we want to build on our successes with the previous model.

“In addition, I am proud that we will be able to prove our skills in both endurance racing and the sprint races of the DTM this season – it will be an exciting year for us.”

Manthey EMA will also contest the first two rounds of the NLS season with its ‘grello’ liveried Porsche, as well as the N24 Qualifiers.

For this weekend’s NLS race, Preining will share the No. 911 car with Marco Holzer because Estre, Christensen and Makowiecki are all competing in the 1000 Miles of Sebring.

“I’ve been following Manthey’s efforts on the Nordschleife for a long time and I’m excited to be part of the team for the new season,” said Preining.

“I hope to build on the good results the team has achieved in recent years and to be able to put the new Porsche 911 GT3 R to the test on the Nordschleife.

“I am confident and have full faith in our driver squad and the team. We will give everything – the goal, as always, is victory.”

Manthey claimed its seventh N24 win in 2021 but its victory defense last year was thwarted by a huge accident for Vanthoor, following a tangle with his brother Dries.

Three members of the latest Manthey EMA crew are past winners of the race, with Estre and Christensen forming part of the 2021 lineup and Makowiecki prevailing in 2018.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Nürburgring Endurance