Connect with us

Nürburgring Endurance

VLN Announces Series Name Change

VLN series to be known as Nürburgring Langstrecken Serie from 2020 onwards…

Photo: VLN

The organizer of the VLN championship has confirmed that the Nordschleife-based competition will be known as the Nürburgring Langstrecken Serie from next year.

The rebranding from VLN to NLS, which translates to ‘Nürburgring Endurance Series’ in English, was announced in a presentation on Tuesday.

Christian Stephani, who will become the new head of the VLN VV GmbH organization in January, explained that changing the series name will help it to gain a wider public outreach in Germany and further afield.

“The Nürburgring, is according to market research, [known by] 95 percent of the population in Germany and [is] a very strong brand that only we in this form in the future may use in our name,” he said.

“This strengthens our status as the only genuine Nürburgring series to race exclusively on the ‘Green Hell’. With the word ‘Nürburgring’ in the logo, the sporting home of the racing series is recognizable at first glance.”

VLN eV & Co. OHG managing director Ralph-Gerals Schlueter added: “For fans and participants, the most important message is that we share in the virtues of long-distance racing.

“The OHG and the VV GmbH work hand in hand with different tasks to set up the series for the future in the best possible way, without neglecting the great and long tradition.”

Sporting Regulation Tweaks Also Made

Further changes for the 2020 season include the implementation of minimum pit stop times in most classes and the introduction of Silver-rated drivers to the GT3 Am class.

According to the series, the minimum pit stop time has been applied to improve safety during pit sequences and to equalize the refueling times of cars. This measure will not apply to GT3, GT4, SP Pro and SP-X machinery.

The introduction of Silver drivers to GT3 Am, meanwhile, has been made to enable more young drivers to gain experience on the 15.7-mile Nürburgring combined circuit.

Furthermore, a new class will be made for Opel Astras, while the championship is currently in negotiations with TCR Germany organizer ADAC for the return of the formula next year.

Should TCR continue to be a part of the NLS, the category will be split into Pro and Am brackets with the latter only allowing Bronze and uncategorized drivers (plus one Silver per crew) to take part.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in Nürburgring Endurance