Connect with us


18 Entries for Blancpain Sprint at Misano

Lamborghini and Fjordbach Audi join BSS at Misano…

Photo: Lamborghini

Photo: Lamborghini

After its season low grid at Portimao, the Blancpain Sprint Series will welcome three additional entries for its penultimate round at Misano next weekend.


As previously revealed by Sportscar365, Grasser Racing Team will enter two factory Lamborghini Huracán GT3s on the occasion of the brand’s home race, giving two 19-year-old Super Trofeo drivers the opportunity to step up.

Recently crowned Blancpain Super Trofeo Pro Class champion Patrick Kujala will share the No. 63 Huracán with factory driver Mirko Bortolotti, while 2014 ST Pro-Am champion Alberto Di Folco teams up with Jeroen Mul in the No. 19 car.

Kujala and Di Folco already got the opportunity to test the Huracán GT3 at the Red Bull Ring  earlier this week.

Meanwhile, Bortolotti is already competing at Misano this weekend, where he’s battling for the Italian GT Championship title with a Reiter Engineering developed Gallardo.

Thomas and Anders Fjordbach, meanwhile, make a surprise return after they left the series back in June. The Audi R8 LMS ultra of the Danish brothers will once again be run by ISR and entered in the Silver Cup.

A possible explanation for the pairing’s return is the fact that they already gained valuable track experience during the official pre-season test in March.

No further changes were made to the entry list compared to Portimao, with the sole Nissan GT-R Nismo GT3 again entered under the U.S. Always Evolving banner.

By winning the previous round, Laurens Vanthoor and Robin Frijns now have a 26-point lead in the standings and if they can extend that advantage by a further eight points in Italy, the Belgian-Dutch Audi-duo will be crowned champion with one round left to run.

Their task to clinch the overall Blancpain GT Series drivers’ title is even easier, since they hold a 45-point lead in that overall classification.

Vincent Wouters (@VinceWouters) is a Belgium-based sports car racing reporter, providing coverage primarily of the Blancpain GT Series.

Click to comment

More in BSS