Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

56 Cars on CTSC Daytona Entry List

56 set for Daytona Continental Tire Challenge season opener…

Photo: IMSA

Photo: IMSA

As expected, the entry list for the season-opening round of the 2015 Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge season features a significant car count increase over the number that tested at the Roar Before the Rolex 24 last weekend.

Just 30 cars entered the test session. The BMW Performance 200 will see the number grow to 56, split between 25 GS and 31 ST cars.

ENTRY LIST: BMW Performance 200

Seven manufacturers (Ford, Chevrolet, Porsche, Nissan, BMW, Subaru and Aston Martin) feature in the GS class, with 10 more cars entered than were at the Roar.

Seven Ford Mustang Boss 302Rs represent the highest entry for any manufacturer in class. The balance features five Camaros, four Nissans, three BMWs, three Aston Martins, two Porsches and a Subaru.

Defending class champions Fall-Line Motorsports return with its pair of BMW M3s, announced earlier Thursday and including 2014 champion Trent Hindman in the No. 46 car with Ashley Freiberg. The pair of Stevenson Motorsports Camaro Z/28.Rs also are entered.

Further adds from the Roar are four Nissan 370Zs (two apiece from Doran Racing and Tim Bell Racing), the Compass360 Racing Subaru WRX-STi and second Automatic Racing Aston Martin Vantage GT4.

In ST, 12 Porsche Caymans are entered among the 31 cars. Most tested at the Roar but new additions include the new Rennsport One pair of entries, the two Team Sahlen Caymans, and an Autometrics Racing entry.

Honda also returns with a greater number of entries. LRT Racing, CRG-I Do Borrow, Compass360 Racing and HART have a total of seven Civic Sis tentatively listed, although Compass360 has announced a change to its new Audi S3s for at least two of its three ST class cars (Nos. 74, 75).

There are six Mazda MX-5s listed, two from CJ Wilson Racing and Freedom Autosport and a single car apiece from Alara Racing and Riley Racing.

BMW is the only other manufacturer represented in ST, with the remaining six cars split between four 328i’s and two 128i’s.

BMW won both in GS and ST last year, with the GS win a 1-2-3-4 sweep of M3s.

Further driver changes from this entry list are expected before next Friday’s race, January 23.

Tony DiZinno (@tonydizinno) is Sportscar365's North American Editor, focusing on coverage of the IMSA-sanctioned championships as well as Pirelli World Challenge. DiZinno also contributes to and other motorsports outlets. Contact Tony

1 Comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge