Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

Hand Joins PF Racing Mustang GT4 for Road America

Ford veteran to make first IMSA start since November 2020 subbing for Chad McCumbee…

Photo: PF Racing

Joey Hand will make his first IMSA start in nearly two years, having been confirmed in PF Racing’s Ford Mustang GT4 for this weekend’s four-hour Michelin Pilot Challenge enduro at Road America.

The Ford driver will join James Pesek at the wheel of the No. 40 entry for the Road America 240, replacing regular co-driver Chad McCumbee, who will be unavailable for the remainder of the season due to schedule conflicts.

Hand’s last IMSA appearance came at the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring in November 2020, subbing for Alvaro Parente in the No. 57 Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX GT3 Evo.

Prior to that, the 43-year-old Californian, who won the 2011 American Le Mans Series GT title, was part of Chip Ganassi Racing’s factory Ford GT effort that ran from 2016-19, scoring multiple GT Le Mans class wins including the 2017 Rolex 24 at Daytona.

The PF Racing Mustang GT4 is one of 40 cars on the entry list for Saturday’s race, which is split between 27 GS class entries and 13 TCR cars.

Among other notable additions and returns include a Kelly-Moss Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport for David Brule and Alec Udell, a second Hardpoint Porsche featuring Derek DeBoer and the return of Automatic Racing’s Aston Martin Vantage GT4 and BGB Motorsports’ Porsche.

Several teams will utilize three-driver lineups, which include Colin Braun in the No. 21 Riley Motorsports entry, which returns to action as a Mercedes-AMG GT4 after missing Lime Rock Park, John Castro Dubets in Hardpoint’s No. 22 Porsche, Spencer Pumpelly at BGB, and Tom Dyer in CarBahn with Peregrine Racing’s Porsche.

Anton Dias Perera, who co-drives with Scott Andrews in the No. 21 Riley effort, explained to Sportscar365 that they’ve made the switch to Mercedes for the remainder of the season due to the Toyota GR Supra GT4 being “very much in the development phase for IMPC’s level of racing.”

The TCR class sees the return of HART’s Honda Civic Type-R TCR, featuring Ryan Eversley, Steve Eich and Chad Gilsinger, while Belgard & Techniseal Racing expands into a two-car Audi RS 3 LMS TCR operation with both cars featuring three-driver lineups as well.

Notably absent is the No. 17 Unitronic by JDC-Miller Motorsports Audi of Mikey Taylor and Chris Miller, which currently sits tenth in the class standings.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge