Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

68 Entries for Twelve Hours of Sebring

Sixty eight cars set to take part in second round of TUDOR Championship…

Photo: IMSA

Photo: IMSA

Next month’s Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring will unsurprisingly feature a maximum capacity grid, as teams take to the historic Florida airfield circuit for the second round of the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship.

IMSA released the provisional entry list Tuesday, featuring 68 entries for the around-the-clock endurance classic, which will also double as the second round of the Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup.

ENTRY LIST: 12 Hours of Sebring

Eighteen cars are set to do battle in the Prototype class, all of the entries that competed in last month’s season-opening Rolex 24 at Daytona except for the No. 99 GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing Corvette DP, which was destroyed in a massive accident and left driver Memo Gidley with multiple injuries.

An additional P2 car, in the form of the Delta-ADR-run Millennium Racing squad, has been granted an entry. The No 24 Oreca 03 Nissan is currently listed with to-be-announced drivers, although both Fabien Giroix and John Martin, who were part of the joint Delta/Action Express entry that finished third overall at the Rolex 24, are expected to be among the drivers.

The No. 02 Chip Ganassi Racing Riley-Ford, which is entered for the NAEC rounds, lists TBA drivers.

There are a total of 11 Prototype Challenge entries, including confirmation of the debut of the JDC/Miller Motorsports Oreca FLM09, as well as the return of a second BAR1 Motorsports entry.

Twelve entries are listed in GT Le Mans, highlighted by the debut of the new Team Falken Tire Porsche 911 RSR, which will be driven by Bryan Sellers and Porsche factory drivers Wolf Henzler and Marco Holzer.

Aston Martin Racing’s No. 97 Aston Martin Vantage V8 is also listed, despite the British squad yet to confirm its participation in the race.

The GT Daytona category sees a dip to 27 entries because of the Daytona-only efforts from the No. 72 SMP/ESM Racing and No. 64 Scuderia Corsa Ferraris.

Snow Racing’s Porsche is listed in partnership with Rum Bum Racing, which includes a switch to the No. 13 and addition of driver Matt Plumb to the lineup.

Of note, the No. 22 Alex Job Racing Porsche lists ADAC GT Masters pilot Philipp Frommenwiler as a new third driver, while a number of GTD teams have yet to confirm their driving squads.

The 62nd Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring is set for March 12-15.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in WeatherTech Championship