Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Lynn Completes Wayne Taylor Lineup for 12H Sebring, Petit Le Mans

Alex Lynn joins Wayne Taylor Racing for Sebring, Petit Le Mans…

Photo: GP2

Photo: GP2

Open wheel standout Alex Lynn will complete Wayne Taylor Racing’s lineup for next month’s Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring and Motul Petit Le Mans, the team confirmed on Thursday.

The 23-year-old Englishman joins brothers Ricky and Jordan Taylor at the wheel of the team’s Rolex 24 at Daytona-winning Cadillac DPi-V.R, taking the seat of Max Angelelli, who retired from driving following last month’s IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season-opener.

“I would like to sincerely thank Wayne and Max for trusting me to join Ricky and Jordan in this incredible race car,” Lynn said.

“I look forward to learning a lot from the entire team and playing my part in building on the fantastic recent result at Daytona. I fully expect us to be fighting for wins at Sebring and Road Atlanta.”

While a known quantity in GP2, having scored five wins and multiple poles and fastest race laps, Lynn is no stranger to sports car racing either, having made selected end-of-year starts in the FIA World Endurance Championship with Manor.

He also tested an Aston Martin Vantage V8 GTE car in the WEC Rookie Test, while also took part in December’s Gulf 12 Hours in a Ligier JS P3 Nissan with United Autosports.

“Alex is a very polished, young competitor who is cut from the same mold as Ricky and Jordan and Max in his ability to fight his way to the front and to stay there in seemingly any kind of racecar,” Wayne Taylor said.

“He will be an ideal representative of this team, for Konica Minolta, for Cadillac, for all our partners.”

The team will utilize a two-driver lineup for the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen in June.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John


More in WeatherTech Championship