Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Lally Wins First Lamborghini ST Race at Watkins Glen

Andy Lally wins opening Lamborghini ST race of weekend…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

In his first start of the season, Andy Lally won Round 3 of the Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo North America series at Watkins Glen International.

Sports car veteran Lally joined the series last season for the final two rounds at Road Atlanta and made his return this weekend for Change Racing in the No. 99 Lamborghini Huracán LP 620-2 Super Trofeo representing Lamborghini Carolinas, capturing a victory by 0.745 of a second over Richard Antinucci.

“This was a lot of fun!” Lally said. “These cars are pretty wild, and this was a blast. I had a lot of pressure from (Edoardo) Piscopo and then Antinucci at the end.

“I had an incident coming into the apex of Turn 9, and I had to rim-shot the corner and he (Antinucci) gained a bunch of time on me, but I was able to hold on. It was a really good time.”

After starting second behind Edoardo Piscopo, Lally took the lead when Piscopo made his mandatory pit stop and never relinquished it.

Antinucci finished second in the No. 50 Lamborghini Huracán fielded by O’Gara Motorsport and representing Lamborghini Beverly Hills for his third podium result of the season.

The duo of Kevin Conway and Enrique Bernoldi followed in their No. 1 Prestige Performance Huracán representing Lamborghini Paramus.

Piscopo ended the race in fourth place overall. Lally’s Change Racing teammate, Corey Lewis, rounded out the top five and was first in the Huracán Pro-Am division in the No. 29 Huracán representing Lamborghini Carolinas.

Angel Benitez Jr. and Nicholas Dickson found the podium for the first time this season, finishing second in the Pro-Am class in the No. 26 Avid Motorsports Huracán representing Lamborghini Miami, followed by Round 2 winner Cedric Sbirrazzuoli and his co-driver Lawrence DeGeorge in the No. 07 fielded by STR and representing Lamborghini Dallas.

In the Huracán Amateur division, Ryan Ockey took first in the No. 89 O’Gara Motorsport machine representing Lamborghini Vancouver.

The father-son duo of Jim and Josh Norman earned their third straight podium finish by placing second in the Amateur division, followed by Ryan Ockey’s brother Damon in the No. 09 O’Gara Motorsport Huracán representing Lamborghini Calgary.

Mitchum Motorsports, the reigning team champion, swept the Gallardo podium for the second time this season. Dylan Murcott took the win in his No. 84 Gallardo LP 570-4 Super Trofeo followed by teammates Brandon Gdovic and Todd Snyder.

Gdovic was the top Gallardo Amateur finisher in his No. 46 Lamborghini representing Palm Beach, followed by Snyder. Joe Chan and Paul Taylor rounded out the top three Amateur finishers in the No. 15 Paragon Competition Gallardo representing Lamborghini Toronto.

Round 4 will begin at 5:35 p.m. (ET) Saturday, June 27 on the historic 11-turn, 3.4-mile circuit. The race will be live streamed at:

Tape-delayed coverage of Rounds 3 and 4 will air at 10 p.m. (ET) Wednesday, July 8 on CBS Sports Network. Coverage will include live commentary on both the broadcast and live streams.

RESULTS: Round 3

The latest sports car racing news from trusted series, manufacturer and team sources based around the world.

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA