Connect with us

Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA

Super Trofeo Teams Gear Up for Barber Season Opener

18 cars set for Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America season-opener at Barber…

Photo: Jamey Price/Lamborghini

A total of 18 Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo EVOs are set to battle for this weekend’s Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America season-opener at Barber Motorsports Park. 

The 2.38-mile, 15-turn circuit outside of Birmingham will kick off the championship battles in all four classes, which sees the return of Pro, Pro-Am, Am and LB Cup classes and a well-subscribed entry list for Rounds 1 and 2.

The first two rounds of of the series can be streamed live on and Lamborghini’s Squadra Corse Web site starting with Race 1 on Saturday at 2:50 pm EDT and Race 2 on Sunday at 1:55 pm EDT.

The races can also be seen on NBCSN on Friday, April 19 at 1 p.m. EDT.

Lewis Teams Up With Antinucci in Pro Class Title Pursuit

Change Racing, Lamborghini Charlotte and its drivers made a sweep of the Team, Dealer and Driver standings in 2018 as they got off to a hot start by winning the first two races of the year and also Round 11 at the World Finals.

Corey Lewis was one of the co-drivers of the No. 29 last year and he returns with a new teammate in Richard Antinucci after his co-driver of last year, Madison Snow, announced his retirement from the sport.

Besides his championship last year, Lewis also won the 2015 Super Trofeo Pro-Am World Championship. Antinucci is no stranger to the series, as he was the 2015 North America Pro Driver Champion and won three times in the class in 2017.

The PPM/Lamborghini Palm Beach entry returns with Brandon Gdovic, who finished fourth in the Pro class last year in the same No. 46 car. This year, he is joined by Conor Daly who makes his way to the series after the previous four seasons in IndyCar.

Other entries include the No. 1 Prestige Performance/Wayne Taylor Racing, Lamborghini Paramus with Andrea Amici and Sandy Mitchell as the co-drivers.

Amici is a former two-time series champion winning the 2013 European Pro title and the Asia Pro championship last year. In 2012 and 2014, he finished third in the Pro class in Europe. Mitchell comes to the team after finishing third in the Silver Cup Endurance Series last year.

The No. 34 US RaceTronics, Lamborghini Beverly Hills car will be driven by Patrick Liddy and D. Bryce Miller. Liddy made his Super Trofeo debut last year and won Round 1 at Mid-Ohio before finishing second in the next three races before not competing the remainder of the year.

Miller has past experience in Super Trofeo, as he finished third in the Pro-Am class in 2017, winning once and finishing on the podium eight times in 10 races. In 2011 and 2012, he ran in the IMSA GT3 Cup Challenge Series.

Curran Set for Super Trofeo Debut in Pro-Am

The most notable of the three entries in Pro-Am is the No. 69 Prestige Performance/Wayne Taylor Racing, Lamborghini Paramus team of William Hubbell and Eric Curran.

Hubbell finished in a tie for third last year in Pro-Am, while two-time IMSA Prototype champion Curran is set for a full-season Super Trofeo campaign.

The No. 94 P1 Motorsports, Lamborghini Broward entry will be co-driven by newly named Lamborghini factory driver Dennis Lind and Brett Meredith.

The Dane made his debut in 2016, winning European and world titles in the Lamborghini Super Trofeo and last year competed in Blancpain GT Series Asia, where he earned a victory in the championship, sharing the FFF Racing Huracán GT3 with Martin Codric.

Meredith finished a strong second in the LB Cup last year as he appeared in eight races, winning six times and finishing second in the other two. Even though he missed the other four races, he finished only 13 points out of the championship.

The No. 09 US RaceTronics, Lamborghini Calgary will have Jake Eidson and Damon Ockey behind the wheel.

Eidson will be making his Super Trofeo debut and won the 2017 Porsche GT3 Cup USA Platinum class. Ockey dueled with the eventual World Champion Hardwick in the Am class all season, finishing second in the standings by a mere four points. He won four races last year and had ten podiums in the 12 rounds.

New, Returning Drivers to Six-Car Am Class Field

The single-driver Am class features the most cars of every class. 

The lone returnee in the class from 2018 is Cameron Cassels in the No. 33 entry from Prestige Performance/Wayne Taylor Racing/Lamborghini Paramus. He finished fifth in the class last year but saved his best for last, as he was second in Round 12 at the World Final at Vallelunga.

Sheena Monk (No. 7 Dream Racing Motorsport/Lamborghini Palmyra) and Steve Dunn (No. 11 PPM/Lamborghini Palm Beach) are making a move to the class from LB Cup.

Monk finished fourth in that class last year, which included a class win at Virginia International Raceway and five second-place finishes before having her season cut short after an incident at WeatherTech Laguna Seca in September caused her to miss the World Finals.

Meanwhile, Dunn raced in the two rounds at Road America in 2018 and ended up winning the pole for each race.

Andy Cantu (No. 13 Dream Racing/Lamborghini Houston) is new to the class, as is Matt Dicken (No. 36 Change Racing/Lamborghini Charlotte) who has experience in many other series, including the IMSA Prototype Challenge where he drove with Lewis and finished sixth in 2018 and fourth the year before. 

The No. 63 Lamborghini from Change Racing/Lamborghini Charlotte will be piloted by McKay Snow, the brother of Madison Snow, who will be making his Super Trofeo debut.

Five Entries for LB Cup

Five entries are on the grid in the LB Cup class, led by Randy Sellari, whose No. 3 Dream Racing Motorsport entry returns to the field.

Sellari finished fifth in the class in 2018 after spending most of the year running in Pro-Am, where he finished second, won Round 5 at Road America and registered five podiums in eight races.

Prestige Performance/WTR’s No. 43 entry in the LB Cup features the female pairing of Stephanie Cemo and Ashton Harrison who are both making their Super Trofeo debuts.

Cemo has won five series championships in other disciplines since 2013, while Harrison was the only female driver in Mazda MX-5 Cup the last two years.

Harrison echoed those same sentiments as the season is about to get started.

Jeffery Cheng returns to the GMG Racing/Lamborghini Newport Beach entry as he made his debut with them in 2015, in which he had a third-place finish at VIR. The entry will be one of two in the LB Cup for the James Sofronas-owned squad, as the No. 08 will be piloted by Mel Johnson.

US RaceTronics will also field the No. 24 in this class from Lamborghini La Jolla. Ron Atapattu will be the driver.

The latest news, photos and video features from the trusted Sportscar365 web staff.

Click to comment

More in Lamborghini Super Trofeo NA