Connect with us


Multiple Changes in Provisional 2022 FIA Driver Ratings

FIA releases provisional 2022 driver rating list featuring multiple changes…

Image: FIA

The FIA has made numerous driver rating adjustments in the release of its provisional 2022 list, which will affect multiple current driver lineups wishing to continue in various sports car racing championships next year.

More than 30 drivers have had their ratings adjusted from Silver to Gold, which affects most Pro-Am driver combinations in series such as the FIA World Endurance Championship, IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and European Le Mans Series and among the various SRO Motorsports Group-run series.

Among the most notable drivers to be re-classified to Gold include Franco Colapinto, Philip Ellis, Jaxon Evans, Jan Heylen, Trent Hindman, Charles Milesi, Aaron Telitz, Charles Weerts, Jeff Westpahl and Yifei Ye.

A more comprehensive list of notable changes can be found below.

Drivers are understood to have a two-week period to appeal the decisions with a final list coming out later this year.

Sportscar365 understands some sanctioning bodies such as IMSA will not make any specific deviations from the official FIA list, while the SRO has already planned to make derogations to fit in with its newly proposed driver ratings system it hopes the FIA will adopt in 2023.

Notable Driver Rating Changes:

Silver to Gold
Oliver Askew
Wayne Boyd
Eddie Cheever III
Austin Cindric
Ugo De Wilde
Philip Ellis
Jaxon Evans
Ricardo Feller
Felipe Fernandez Laser
Santino Ferrucci
Alex Fontana
Rahel Frey
Tom Gamble
Marcos Gomes
Garett Grist
Ayhancan Guven
Valentin Hasse-Clot
Jan Heylen
Trent Hindman
Laurens Horr
Dennis Marschall
Charles Milesi
Pato O’Ward
Alex Palou 
Dylan Pereira
Alessio Rovera
Fabio Scherer
Aaron Telitz
Charles Weerts
Jeff Westphal
Yifei Ye

Gold to Platinum
Ben Barnicoat
Albert Costa
Antonio Fuoco
Jules Gounon
Marco Mapelli
Luca Stolz
Dries Vanthoor

Platinum to Gold
Andrea Bertolini
Jeff Gordon

Gold to Silver
Anthony Beltoise
Olivier Panis

Silver to Bronze
Terry Borcheller
Orey Fidani

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Industry