Connect with us


Racers in Isolation: Sebastien Buemi

Sebastien Buemi on spending time with family and keeping sharp whilst under lockdown…

Photo: Sebastien Buemi

For the latest Racers in Isolation feature, Toyota LMP1 star Sebastien Buemi (Twitter/Instagram) checks in from his family home in Switzerland.

The double 24 Hours of Le Mans winner tells us about his current life at home during the break, his sports interests beyond motorsport and his ideal road trip. 

Where are you sitting out the COVID-19 pandemic?

Like most people, I’m at home, with my family and my kids. I’m trying to work out as much as I can. Following the rules, of course.

How are you keeping busy while there’s no real-world racing on?

As you can imagine I try to be in touch with the team. I am also training in the morning and in the afternoon as much as possible to keep a rhythm which I think is really important.

For the kids as well you need a rhythm. I am trying to eat well, sleep well and train as much as I can.

I am going to receive a simulator in the next few days, mainly for Formula E but I can use it for other things too. I am looking forward to getting it.

What was your first car?

My first car was a Daihatsu Cuore. I was 16 years old and I had the opportunity to have a car. It only had 50 hp but at 16 I was allowed to drive. I don’t have amazing memories of this car! But I just enjoyed having one at that age; it was better than having a scooter.

Describe your ideal road trip…

I think I would travel up to the mountains. In Switzerland we are lucky to have great scenery, the weather is good and everything is pretty green so the landscape is amazing.

With what car? There are many, but probably a convertible. I have an AC Cobra so I’d take that.

Were there any series that you almost drove in, but didn’t? And are there any series or types of racing that you would like to try out at some point?

I am quite lucky I have managed to drive in everything I was hoping to, from Formula 1 to Formula E and WEC. I did a couple of races in IMSA and I would love to do more, but you need to be in the right seat at the right time.

There are many categories that I like; I am following IndyCar and rally but of course the easiest of these to adapt to would be IndyCar as I guess it requires quite similar skills.

I love what I am doing now, so it’s difficult to think about anything other than this. 

What was your first job?

The first job I had was at the dealership of my dad, when I was 14 or 15. After school I basically had to clean cars. It was a tough one!

Do you follow any sports outside racing? If so, which team/s do you support?

I follow skiing, tennis and football. I like Real Madrid very much, and Basel in Switzerland.

In tennis I follow Roger Federer as you can imagine, as a Swiss guy. I do follow quite a lot of sports but away from motorsport, skiing is the one I love most.

What things are most looking forward to, the first day you return to a race track?

I am looking forward to jump in the car and start the engine. It feels like a long time ago even if it’s only two months since Austin.

In the past I was used to finish racing in November and restart in March. But now with all the championships having different calendars, I end up driving all the time.

Now two months already feels like a long time so I can’t wait for the opportunity to be back in the car.

The latest news, photos and video features from the trusted Sportscar365 web staff.

Click to comment

More in FIA WEC