Connect with us


Second Cadillac Confirmed for 6H Spa

Chip Ganassi Racing adds second Cadillac V-Series.R for third round of WEC season…

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

Cadillac Racing will have a second Cadillac V-Series.R in the third round of the FIA World Endurance Championship season at Spa next month.

According to the official entry list, IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship co-drivers Renger van der Zande and Sebastien Bourdais will share the No. 3 Chip Ganassi Racing-run Cadillac LMDh prototype in the six-hour race on April 29.

They are set to share the grid with CGR’s full-season No. 2 lineup of Earl Bamber, Richard Westbrook and Alex Lynn, as Cadillac gears up for a three-car effort at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in June that will also involve Action Express Racing.

Van der Zande and Bourdais drove for LMP2 team Vector Sport in the final two rounds of last year’s WEC season before putting their full focus on Cadillac’s LMDh project.

“We’re excited for the opportunity to bring another Cadillac to the race at Spa in the FIA World Endurance Championship season,” said GM sports car racing program manager Laura Wontrop Klauser.

“Any opportunity that we have to prepare for Le Mans within the WEC rules and regulations is great. This will get the team even more ready to tackle that race as well as an opportunity to bring more Cadillac participation to the European race.”

As reported by Sportscar365 four weeks ago, Hertz Team JOTA is also on the Spa entry list with its customer Porsche 963 which brings the Hypercar field up to 13 cars.

The only unconfirmed driver lineup in the top category is the Glickenhaus Racing crew, which has Olivier Pla and Romain Dumas nominated at present.

2021 DTM champion Maximilian Goetz is set to drive for the American team this year, while Ryan Briscoe contested the season-opening 1000 Miles of Sebring.

In LMP2, Andrea Caldarelli will make his second appearance for Prema as relief for Juan Manuel Correa who is prioritized at the FIA Formula 2 round in Baku.

Filipe Albuquerque and Tom Blomqvist are set to return to United Autosports’ pair of Oreca 07 Gibsons after missing the 6 Hours of Portimao due to a clash with their WeatherTech Championship GTP commitments.

The only change in GTE-Am is the addition of 2013 ADAC GT Masters champion Diego Alessi to the No. 21 AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE Evo.

Alessi, who is set for his WEC debut, replaces Stefano Costantini as the designated Bronze-rated driver in the lineup alongside Simon Mann and Ulysse de Pauw.

GTE-Am remains the largest category with 14 cars despite the addition of two LMDh entries to Hypercar.

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA World Endurance Championship, Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.

Click to comment

More in FIA WEC