Connect with us


Aitken Wins Oschersleben Race 1 After Late Drama for Wittmann

Jack Aitken victorious at Oschersleben; late-race mechanical troubles cost Marco Wittmann…

Photo: Gruppe C Photography

Jack Aitken claimed his second career win in DTM, coming out on top in Race 1 at Oschersleben after late-race mechanical issues cost Marco Wittmann victory in the series’ season opener.

The No. 14 Ferrari 296 GT3 beat Mirko Bortolotti’s No. 92 SSR Performance Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO2 by 2.318 seconds in Saturday’s one-hour season opener, with Ricardo Feller completing the podium.

Aitken, who had started the race from pole position and maintained the lead for the opening half hour, appeared to be on track to finish second behind the No. 11 Schubert Motorsport BMW M4 GT3 driven by Wittmann.

The German ran at the tail of the field and extended his opening stint, allowing him to make a well-timed pitstop just before a Full Course Yellow while the leading pack had already pitted previously.

Wittmann entered the pits moments before an FCY was called to retrieve the No. 25 Doerr Motorsport McLaren 720S GT3 Evo of Ben Doerr, which had become stranded on the start-finish straight after the left rear wheel came off.

As a result, the No. 11 BMW catapulted to the lead of the race and Wittmann maintained his advantage at the restart by remaining ahead of Aitken, Feller and Bortolotti.

That was until Wittmann suddenly slowed with four minutes to go, reporting fuel pressure problems on the radio before coming to a halt completely and triggering a second safety car.

Aitken then held off Bortolotti and Feller for a one-lap sprint to the flag, allowing the Brit to take a second win after coming out on top at the Lausitzring last year.

Bortolotti finished second, having regained the position on the first restart after initially dropping behind Feller during the pitstops.

Feller, in turn, held off a challenge from the No. 31 Schubert BMW of Sheldon van der Linde on the final lap, with the South African and Haupt Racing Team’s Luca Stolz rounding out the overall top five.

Lucas Auer finished sixth ahead of Rene Rast, Arjun Maini and Thierry Vermeulen.

Reigning champion Thomas Preining completed the overall top ten aboard the No. 91 Manthey EMA Porsche 911 GT3 R.


Davey Euwema is Sportscar365's European Editor. Based in The Netherlands, Euwema covers the FIA World Endurance Championship, European Le Mans Series and Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS, among other series.

Click to comment

More in DTM