Connect with us

Pirelli GT4 America

Cooper Clinches Sprint Title; Davis, Bell Win on Saturday

Results from Saturday’s Pirelli GT4 America races at COTA…

Photo: SRO America

Michael Cooper has clinched the 2020 Pirelli GT4 America Sprint Pro drivers’ championship with his tenth victory of the season Saturday at Circuit of The Americas.

The Blackdog Speed Shop driver made a late-race pass on Drew Staveley for the lead and eventual win in the 50-minute race.

While having started on pole, Cooper lost the position on the opening lap to Staveley in the No. 12 Ian Lacy Racing Ford Mustang GT4.

An accident between Mark Klenin and Frank Gannett resulted in a lengthy safety car period, with the field restarting with 36 minutes to go.

Staveley remained out front until the final five minutes when Cooper’s McLaren 570S GT4 sailed past the Mustang GT4 on the back straight.

He crossed the line 1.229 seconds ahead of Staveley to take the win and his fourth drivers’ title in SRO America competition.

Paul Terry held off teammate Jeff Burton for top class honors in the Am class.

The No. 59 Rearden Racing Aston Martin Vantage GT4 finished third overall.

Michael Dinan, who claimed Am class honors on Friday, missed today’s action due to a family commitment. 

The third and final GT4 Sprint race is set for Sunday at 9 a.m. CDT.


Photo: SRO America

Jason Bell and Andrew Davis claimed a commanding overall win in the second and final Pirelli GT4 America SprintX race of the weekend at Circuit of The Americas.

Bell took the No. 2 GMG Racing Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport to a 7.757-second victory over the No. 28 ST Racing BMW M4 GT4 of Karl Wittmer and Harry Gottsacker, which picked up Silver class honors with a runner-up overall finish.

Pole-sitter Davis led the field to green and held a three-second lead over the No. 50 Panoz Avezzano GT4 of Ian James, with the Jan Heylen’s No. 37 RS1 Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MR in third prior to the mid-race pit stop, which saw the gap extended up front.

Bell earned his first career overall win in GT4 America competition.

The No. 36 Andretti Autosport McLaren 570S GT4 of Jarett Andretti made a late-race charge to third overall and second in Silver, with the No. 37 RS1 Porsche of Chris Belluardo fading to fourth overall and second in Pro-Am at the checkered flag.

Matt Keegan brought the No. 50 Panoz Avezzano GT4 home in fifth.

The sister No. 51 Panoz, which won on Friday, suffered suspension damage on Lap 3 while in the hands of Roman De Angelis.

Am class honors, meanwhile, went to the No. 3 Motorsport USA McLaren GT4 of Michael McAleenan and Dan Rogers, which finished 14th overall.


John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Pirelli GT4 America