Connect with us

Intercontinental GT Challenge

Top 10 Shootout, Class Pole-Sitters Determined at Bathurst

Positions for Top 10 Shootout, class pole-sitters determined for Bathurst 12 Hour…

Photo: John Dagys

Cars for the Pirelli Top 10 Shootout have been determined following a frantic qualifying sessio for the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour.

Kelvin van der Linde recorded the quickest time in the abbreviated session, a 2:02.345 in the No. 22 Jamec Pem Audi R8 LMS, edging out the No. 43 Team Schnitzer BMW M6 GT3 of Chaz Mostert by 0.029 seconds.

Phillip Eng was third quickest in the No. 100 BMW Team SRM entry, with Scott McLaughlin (YNA McLaren 650S GT3) and Matt Campbell (Competition Porsche 911 GT3 R) completing the top-five.

Others confirmed in the top-10 are the No. 58 YNA McLaren, No. 74 Jamec Pem Audi, No. 37 WRT Audi, No. 777 Buik Motorworks Lamborghini Gallardo R-EX and No. 17 Bentley Continental GT3.

The No. 55 Strakka Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 was the first to miss out on the shootout and will start 11th, with both factory-backed Porsches set to roll off from 18th and 26th, respectively.

The 30-minute scheduled session was first interrupted following an accident from Lee Holdsworth in the No. 9 Marc Cini Racing Audi, who made impact at Griffins Bend. 

The session restarted with 11 minutes to go, following a maximum five-minute extension due to the lengthy cleanup, and saw another red in the final seconds following a car that stopped on track.

Pole-sitters in Classes B, C and I, meanwhile, were determined following the first qualifying session.

The No. 4 Grove Racing Porsche 911 GT3 Cup car of Ben Barker will start from Class B pole, thanks to a 2:08.071 lap set early in the session.

Class C pole honors went to the No. 30 Boat Works Racing BMW M4 GT4 of Aaron Seton, while the debuting No. 91 MARC Cars Australia Mustang will start from the front in the Invitational class.

The Top 10 Shootout is set to get underway at 4:10 p.m. local time.

RESULTS: Qualifying 2

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Intercontinental GT Challenge