Connect with us

Michelin Pilot Challenge

Wittmer, Green Take Dramatic Mid-Ohio Win in AWA McLaren

Second win in three races for AWA McLaren 570S GT4…

Photo: Rick Dole/IMSA

A late-race pass on Matt Plumb and defense on Jan Heylen has given Kuno Wittmer and co-driver Chris Green victory in Saturday’s IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge victory at Mid-Ohio for AWA.

Wittmer pedaled the No. 13 McLaren 570S GT4 to a 0.417-second win over a hard-charging No. 16 Wright Motorsports Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport of Heylen following a dramatic closing minutes to the third round of the season.

It marked Wittmer’s and the Canadian team’s second win in three races and provisionally puts Wittmer back into the GS championship lead.

Green, who made his first start of the season, was subbing for Orey Fidani this weekend. 

While having held the lead following a round of pit stops, the No. 46 Team TGM Chevrolet Camaro GT4.R of Plumb came under attack by Wittmer on the final restart with 18 minutes to go.

After multiple attempts on the back straight, Wittmer got around Plumb with 15 minutes remaining and initially extended his advantage as carnage unfolded behind.

Plumb got turned around by the No. 7 VOLT Racing by Archangel Aston Martin Vantage GT4 of Trent Hindman, knocking the TGM driver out of the top-ten and resulting in damage to Hindman’s bright yellow-colored Aston.

It gave clear sailing for Heylen, who closed in on Wittmer in the final few laps, with the No. 57 Winward Racing Mercedes-AMG GT4 of Alec Udell and Bryce Ward scoring a surprise overall podium finish due to the late-race drama.

The No. 3 Motorsports In Action McLaren of Spencer Pigot and Sheena Monk finished fourth while the No. 96 Turner Motorports BMW M4 GT4 of Robby Foley and Vincent Barletta completing the top-five.

An incident between Pigot and the No. 95 Turner Motorsport BMW of Bill Auberlen just past the halfway mark sent the GS points leader to the garage with damage to his car.

First Win for Hyundai Elantra N TCR

Hyundai claimed its first victory of the season with Ryan Norman and Parker Chase taking the win in their No. 98 Bryan Herta Autosport Elantra N TCR.

Norman passed the No. 27 Copeland Motorsports Hyundai Veloster N TCR of Tyler Maxson, who emerged as the class leader following the round of mid-race pit stops, prior to the race’s second and final caution.

It marked the first win for the Hyundai Elantra N TCR in North American competition.

Norman finished 1.020 seconds ahead of the sister No. 77 BHA Hyundai Veloster N TCR of Michael Lewis, with Ryan Eversley putting the No. 94 Atlanta Speedwerks Honda Civic Type-R onto the podium after a late charge.

The Copeland Hyundai duo of Maxson and Tyler Gonzalez came home fourth in class, meanwhile.

RESULTS: Mid-Ohio 120

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in Michelin Pilot Challenge