Connect with us

WeatherTech Championship

Fillon Named Rolex 24 Grand Marshal

ACO President to give command to start engines for Rolex 24 at Daytona…

Photo: Mike Levitt/IMSA

ACO President Pierre Fillon has been named grand marshal for the 59th annual Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Fillon, who served as the race’s honorary starter in 2014 (pictured above with IMSA chairman Jim France), will give the command to start engines on the expected 50-car field on Jan. 30 to help kick off the upcoming IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season.

“I am extremely honored to have been named the grand marshal of the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona,” Fillon said in a post on Twitter.

“Our relationship with IMSA through the creation of the LMDh regulations has strengthened endurance racing and promises a great future for our discipline.”

Fillon is expected to be joined by Brumos Racing’s Dan Davis on the honorary role, with Davis tabbed as the race’s honorary starter.

Further meetings are understood to be planned in Daytona between IMSA and the ACO on the upcoming LMDh regulations that will also include former FIA World Endurance Championship boss Gerard Neveu, who has stayed on in a consultatory role.

The platform, which was formally announced at Daytona last year, is on track for a full-season debut in 2023 in both the WeatherTech Championship and WEC.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Sportscar365. Dagys spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for and SPEED Channel and has contributed to numerous other motorsports publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

More in WeatherTech Championship