Connect with us

24H Le Mans

Derani Joins Ford in Four-Car 24H Le Mans Entry

Four Fords at Le Mans, Derani joins No. 67 lineup…

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

Photo: Vision Sport Agency

Ford Chip Ganassi Racing will once again enter four Ford GTs in this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, with Pipo Derani joining the team for the French endurance classic.

In a similar lineup to 2016, Stefan Muecke and Olivier Pla will drive the No. 66 Ford for the full FIA World Endurance Championship season, while Andy Priaulx and Harry Tincknell will share the No. 67 car.

They’ll be joined by Billy Johnson and Derani, respectively, for Le Mans and the opening two rounds of the WEC at Silverstone and Spa.

“I am delighted and proud to have been chosen to represent such a successful and respected manufacturer like Ford,” said Derani.

“To race for an organization like the Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Team has been one of my aims since starting in racing and to be recognized and selected by them is a big deal for me.

“I especially want to thank George-Howard Chappell for his trust and belief in order to give me this opportunity.”

In addition to his part-season WEC program, Derani will also complete the Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup with Tequila Patron ESM.

Meanwhile, Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais will be looking to defend their GTE-Pro class win at Le Mans in the No. 68 car.

Richard Westbrook, Ryan Briscoe and Scott Dixon will also return to Le Mans, in the second of the team’s two full-season IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship entries.

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist. He is a graduate of Politics and International Relations.


More in 24H Le Mans